This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

Humus as a base substrate

Discussion in 'Advanced Strategies and Fertilization' started by Amitava Chakraborty, Jan 24, 2006.

  1. Amitava Chakraborty

    Amitava Chakraborty Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have got a packet of humus from my lfs. It is a product of prodac of Italy.

    You can goto their website at http://www.prodac.it/english/dolce7.htm

    Do anybody use this?

    Can I use humus as a base substrate which I will cover with laterite and natural gravel ?

    regards
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    339
    Re: Humus as a base substrate

    A light dusting, treat like ground peat, will work.
    Adding more will make a huge mess.

    A little will decompose and add some carbon to the substrate for the bacteria to help cycle the tank in the first few months, till plant decayed leaves, fish waste etc supply it, adding mulm along with the bottom of peat/humus will help cycle the tank instantly pretty much.

    So add a handfull per sq ft of tank bottom, add some mulm(fresh filter sponge squeezings, or the dirt in the bottom of bucket after gravel vacuuming the substrate from an older tank.) , then cap with gravel.

    Laterite really does not do much to help really.
    It does prevent anaerobic conditions to some degree, but so do thriving roots, adding traces to the water column will supply enough Fe though.
    Still, a little will not hurt either.


    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. Amitava Chakraborty

    Amitava Chakraborty Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Humus as a base substrate

    Thanks Tom,

    Should I boil the humus prior to use it ?

    As per your suggestion, I will not use laterite. I will put handful of humus persquare foot and top up with 3"-4" layer of 2-3 mm natural gravel.

    regards
     
  4. jerime

    jerime Expired Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Humus as a base substrate

    Tom, I've seen some folks adding a lot of that and peat to the substrate (2 inch layer). Is there something that is called too much? if so, what are the down sides?
     
  5. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    339
    Re: Humus as a base substrate

    See the part about making a big mess and also ask yourself why might you need so much.

    Peat offers little in the way of nutrients.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  6. srozell

    srozell Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Humus as a base substrate

    Do we have to pay any royaties to Tom for using humus in our substrate? :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page