This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

How to "reboot" a tank?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by AmirM, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Hello,
    After two months of trials and a lot of learning, I decided to replace my plants with a new batch. I hope I corrected all my beginner's errors (CO2 level, lights, now I'm using EI...). My old plants are just basically falling apart, decaying and covered with algae.

    What would you recommend before I bring new plants in order to avoid another infestation with hair/fuzz algae? Will the algae spores remain in the substrate? Any chemical you recommend for disinfecting the tank?
    I really need a fresh start.
    Thanks for any advice
    Amir
    ________
    VERMONT MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARY
     
    #1 AmirM, Oct 27, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
  2. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Hi Amir,
    You can probably bleach the heck out of your tank and kill most or all spores (as well as the benificial bacteria) but it's a certainty that if you make the same mistakes such as poor CO2, poor feeding etc., the plants will fail again and the algae will return. If you do use bleach make sure you wash it out thoroughly.

    Cheers,
     
  3. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Thanks,
    I was thinking about keeping the substrate, and removing only the plants.
    If I dry the substrate for a few days/weeks- do you think it will be beneficial regarding algae?
    Are algae killed effectively by dehydration?
    Thanks
    Amir
    ________
    Sick from nexium
     
    #3 AmirM, Oct 28, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
  4. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Black brush algae doesn't seem to mind being dehydrated for long periods of time, but I think the other algae are killed that way. In any case, all of our tanks contain algae spores - they are everywhere, all of the time. Our objective is to avoid triggering those spores to start their growth cycle. So, I would just clean out any algae you can find. Leave the substrate in the tank, if you want to reuse it, and start with new tap water, fertilizers, plants, etc.
     
  5. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Thank you :)
    I will try to reuse the same substrate, but start with a new batch of plants, ferts, etc
    I've setup the 4dKH distilled water - and it works great.
    Cheers
    Amir
    ________
    Black vids
     
    #5 AmirM, Oct 30, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page