This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

how to hook up an inline pump?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by ccLansman, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:46 AM
    I cant seem to find the answer on google. Is it possible to simply purchase an external pump and place in line with my eheim 2026 and diy external reactor? Will it slow down the flow? Speed it up? Strain the eheim ect..? Thanks, the reason for doing this would to A) Increase flow into the reactor, B) Increase flow into the tank.

    Thanks
     
  2. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:46 AM
    Im doing this with a dedicated fractionating external pump, but not inline with my ehiem. Why do you need to put it inline with the canister? Two outlets into the tank will get you better more options for good c02 circulation to all parts of the tank.
     
  3. inkslinger

    inkslinger Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    12:46 AM
    How big is your tank? I have a Eheim Pro 2 2028 for my 110g tank an that only pumps out at 275gph. I ran my CO2 Reactor and Hydro Heater with a Mag 5 500gph Pump inline with it's owe intake and return ,
    IMO you will get better results that way with your co2 instead of adding head pressure loss to the filter, you will have better circulation in your tank. Even then you should have at less 10x turn over rate in your tank you might have to add a power head to give your co2 good circulation.
     
  4. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    12:46 AM
    cc,

    I echo the other replies:)

    If you do it your way, you will have a lot to worry about with matching the flow rates based on where you are placing the other pump.

    I would just run the reactor as said on it's own pump. Let the filter do it's thing un-impeded and drive the reactor separately.

    You can always splice the reactor output to the canister outflow but increase to a larger diameter pipe AFTER the splice as you will have more flow..........

    That way there is still only one pipe to the tank. That said however, it is better for circulation and flow to have separate outlets, maybe one on each end of the tank.

    IMO you will get much better results..................
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice