How to go more low tech without encorraging algae

Linds

Junior Poster
Jan 30, 2013
North East Victoria, Australia
Hello all,

I have a tank set up at my parents house (where I live atm) and I am moving very soon. It is roughly and 80L tank but only has about 60L of water with the substrate and rocks. It is inert substrate, I have added some Osmocote under some of the plants. It seems to be going alright, but I have no experience to compare with. I am dosing EI using liquid mixed from dry chems.

It has a single t8 over it so falls in the low light category well and truley. I have had the photoperiod at 6h for the first month and a bit, I have given it another hour now. I'd like to increase it further because I lie to actually see my tank but I'm afraid of algae.

I have pressurised CO2 running through a DIY inline diffuser.

My crypts are growing really well, they didn't die back at all when I planted them ( I think I lost one leaf) and since they have been growing a lot of new leaves.

This pic is when I first planted (minus the moss which was still in the bag).

You could say I'm having algae problems but I'm also not. Sounds confusing but bear with me. When I first planted the tank I had a few Anubias. They had some spot algae and some other green hair algae. Since they have been in my new setup the algae has died and now it just looks brown on the old leaves, the new ones are nice and algae free. However up the top I'ts another story.

Here are two recent pics.

As you can see I'm getting this ugly algae. It's all up the top where the light is more intense.

So what I want to know is what I can do. Do I need more CO2? the ferts seem to be high enough because I'm using the same for a higher light tank and it is not growing algae. Or is it maybe a flow thing? It is nowhere near 10 time turnover. The one thing against the flow theory is that the filter outlet flows directly over where the first pic is showing.