This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

How much Iron is needed?

Discussion in 'Estimative Index' started by mr_convitbau, Apr 7, 2009.

1. mr_convitbau

mr_convitbau Junior Poster

Local Time:
    6:26 AM
    This is my first post on this forum. I am also a newbie too.

My tank is 45 gallon dosed with EI. Light is 220W (55x4) raised 4 inches above the water surface and turned on 8 hr/day with 4 hr noon burst. Pressurized CO2 is added as much as the fish can tolerate. The soil is AS Amazonia II with Power Sand on the bottom.

The plants are glosso, B.japonica and aubertii, giant and dwarf hairgrass, E.tellenus, and L.aromatica.

My question is how much iron (chelated iron bought from Rex Grigg) should I add? I am right now adding 1/8 tsp 3x per week. Since there is no instruction for adding iron in the EI method, I wonder if the amount of iron I am adding is enough for the plants. My L.aromatica do not turn red. They are just bright green with some very little purple underneath the leaves. I would love to see them turn red.

Any suggestions are more than welcome and appreciated.

Regards,
    TL

2. jonny_ftm

jonny_ftm Guru Class Expert

Local Time:
    Hi,

I'll just add some confusion to your questionning

In the EI method, using CSM+B will add 0.6ppm Fe /week for your tank
    But, using TPN, will add 0.13 to 0.2 Fe /week

I'm also very confused but all what I heard till now is that either method you choose, it doesn't matter :confused:

So why add so much iron in CSM+B if only 1/3 of it will be more than enough?