This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Hi, introduction and questions.

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by firemedic269, Oct 1, 2012.

1. firemedic269

firemedic269 Member

Local Time:
    2:38 PM
    Hi,

I'm new to this forum, and also to planted tanks. I wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I am a firefighter / Paramedic from Cleveland, Ohio. I have had many aquariums in the past, but no planted tanks. After about a 10 year break I have come back to the hobby. I started my new tank when I realized how much my new son likes to watch them.

I have a 20 gallon tank 30in x 12in x 13in. It has the original hood and light, however i changed the bulb to a PowerGlo T8 20W which says its 18000k. I have flourite substrate ( about 1 1/2 - 2 inches deep, and a 1/2 inch of gravel on top. I have an Aquaclear 50 filter. I have 4 guppies and 2 dwarf Gouramies. I was planning on adding rainbow tetras in a month or so once the tank cycles. The tank has been up and running for 1 week. My lights are on for about 8-10 hrs a day. I used a double dose of API Stress Zyme as the label recommended. And I used a dose of Flourish plant supplement the second day, which i now realize I should not have done.
    View attachment 3624

As you can see, I have it partially planted already. I am having a couple of issues. First i have what I believe is wood fungus on my driftwood which my lfs said was an African wood which i put Java moss on. From reading here and other places I believe i should just scrub it off with a toothbrush as well as I can. And that this is harmless to the tank and fish... Is this correct?