This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Help With Fluvial 2.0 Lighting On 55 Breeder Aquarium

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by #1 Plant Boy, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. #1 Plant Boy

    #1 Plant Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:34 AM
    Hi,

    I have a 55 gallon breeder aquarium and using a 48 inch fluvial 2.0 over it. The light is inside of the hood and is fixed in the center flat to the underside. Inside of the hood has white waterproof sealer. The hood sits level on top of the aquarium. Also there are glass covers on the aquarium. Both of which are clean

    I measured with a apogee par' meter what the par was in the aquarium. I placed the par meter on the left side right in the middle and got a par' reading of 67. The I place it on the right side in the middle and got a par reading of 43. I also flipped the light around and still got the exact same readings. It is puzzling as to why I got such a lower reading on the right side than the left. The spiderwood wasn't on the right side when I took the par reading.

    Any help is appreciated

    20180924_144531.jpg
     
  2. rajkm

    rajkm Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    212
    Local Time:
    8:34 AM
    Take the wood out and try. I suspect it’s lack of reflective light.
     
  3. #1 Plant Boy

    #1 Plant Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:34 AM
    Yep I did in fact take out the wood with the reading I got.
     
  4. jeffkrol

    jeffkrol New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    2:34 AM
    Prob. a design defect ..sort of.. Bet it's on the other "side" of the power supply.
    Thin copper traces can drop voltage over longer runs..
    Interesting nobody's reported this before though..
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice