This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Help me find the right CO2 setup

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by avbarr11, Jun 24, 2013.

1. avbarr11

avbarr11 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    12:04 PM
    I'm new to planted tanks and I'm trying to set up a middle-of-the-road tank with moderate lighting and moderate CO2 (maybe around 20ppm?). I have a 60 gallon tank. I've been trying to understand all I can about CO2 regulators and have read a lot on this site about DIY regs and set ups (this morning it was http://www.barrreport.com/showthread.php/10291-The-noob-guide-to-building-your-own-regulator-part-numbers-sources-and-other-tips!/page2 )

This went mostly over my head. Is there a reliable, well built version for sale out there that won't cost me an arm and a leg but will save me from these terrifying DIY projects?? I know that's kind of like asking for the world, but I'm just not sure I could DIY this myself since I've never even seen a CO2 set up in real life!

2. Matt F.

Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    You're in the right place. Collectively we've had a lot of experience with CO2 equipment, and we're here to help. So ask as many questions as you need to along the way. How to cut cost is on everyone's mind. There just aren't any good options out there when it comes to commercially prebuilt regulators for the aquarist. Sellers cut corners and try to maximize profit in any way they can. When it comes to regulators the quality of the components matters most. If a solenoid fails, you can have a tank full of dead fish and shrimp.