This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Hello, old biologist returns

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Edwin, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Edwin

Edwin New Member

Local Time:
    1:47 PM
    I am a retired marine fisheries biologist. Shortly after I retired over a decade ago I got into planted aquariums. Had a beautiful 75 gallon tank that was so stable that I had Amano shrimp live 7 years. The last one would have lived even longer but a bristle-nose decided to eat the shrimp while it was shedding. Killed the shrimp and the bristle nose. Blue and Red Columbian tetras spawned (started with five ended up with a dozen doing nothing extraordinary.) I still have a very old true SAE which is no longer in the 75 but was moved to a smaller tank along with two also very old Chained loaches. About five years ago I had a catastrophic injury to by back and two surgery. All I did until recently was just change the water in both tanks and feed the fish. The tanks became overgrown. My back is much better. My primary lighting on the 75 finally died so I have gone to LEDs. That has gotten me interested again planted tanks. I have found that many things have changed while I was away, like our understanding of what is going on in the tank while other things have remained unchanged like trying to determine the quality and reliability of internet plant and fish providers.

Mike k and DutchMuch like this.
  2. DutchMuch

DutchMuch Junior Poster

Local Time:
    6:47 PM
    Hi Edwin,