This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Hello I Am From Kolkata, India

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by sam_08, Oct 7, 2018.

1. sam_08

sam_08 New Member

Local Time:
    11:31 PM
    I am a newbie and glad to join the community. I will ask you tons of questions about setting up a new tank, lol. I hope I will get help from you.

Sent from my Redmi 4A using Tapatalk

KeeperOfASilentWorld likes this.
  2. Tom Barr

Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

Local Time:
    7:01 PM
  3. sam_08

sam_08 New Member

Local Time:
    Thanks for the support. Here goes my questions-

My will be project is a 5.5 feet( 65 inch) long, 19 inches wide and 22 inch high tank. This is the maximum available space on the kitchen top which is not in use. But One problem, there are wooden cabinates above the top which are 14 inch thick and at a height of 25 inch from the top . So some front part ( 5 inch) of the tank will remain clear for access and the middle section ( 27 inch) of the tank has no cabinet above it so available to access the bottom of the tank. I think it is enough but the light will remain max 2.5 inch above the water level. I don't want to reduce the dimensions of the tank.

Q 1. I have decided to build it with 12 mm glass( front panel with low iron and back panel foggy glass), will that be enough? Should I use toughned glass bottom panel? ( my plan is to use about 30-40 kg stone divided to the left and right section of the tank). Is bracing must? Is cross bracing also needed?

4. sam_08

sam_08 New Member

Local Time: