This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Green Water

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plant Fertilization' started by tbolls, May 29, 2016.

1. tbolls

tbolls Junior Poster

Local Time:
    5:14 AM
    HI all, as the heading indicates In having trouble with green water. I have just changed from PMDD to EI dosing and was wondering if this was a common occurrence when you you irst start EI. It's not a new tank, I have been running it for quite a few years now, so it is well and truly cycled. I thought maybe the increase of Nitrates and Phosphate may be the cause.

2. Dennis Singh

Dennis Singh SynKing!

Local Time:
    9:14 PM
    revert and go back to the way you were. If you weren't seeing deficiencies. Green water should regress, otherwise your gonna have to bust out the UV.

3. tbolls

tbolls Junior Poster

Local Time:
    May have to stick my hand in my pocket and invest in a UV. Seems like it isn't common when changing to EI.

4. Pikez

Pikez Rotala Killer!
    Staff Member Moderator

Local Time:
    UV removes the symptom. It does not address the root cause, which is a severe imbalance in fert/light/CO2.

EI by itself does not cause green water. What you're doing when you go from PMDD to EI is switch from fert-limited to CO2 limited.

My suggestion would be to clean filter, light vacuum gravel, and do several large water changes. Check your CO2. You can get away with lower/jumpy CO2 with PMDD. EI will put lack of CO2 optimization on full display. So increase and stabilize CO2. You can lower light for a few days until issue is resolved.