This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Green hair algae help

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by acrman21, Sep 13, 2015.

1. acrman21

acrman21 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    2:54 AM
    Hi, I've been battling this algae for a few months an i can't get rid of it. I have a 90g tank, running co2 an getting a little more then a full point drop. For lights I have a sat + running 7 hours an I dry dose EI. what am I doing wrong ? An how can I stop it ?

2. Solcielo lawrencia

Local Time:
    Are the plants healthy?

3. acrman21

acrman21 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    Ya they all look fairly healthy to me

4. Jessy2363

Jessy2363 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    I also need help. I have hair algae starting to form. Just started running co2 at around 15mg/l with medium lighting. Am dosing ferts. No idea why I'm getting hair algae. Whitish hair algae. think it's staghorn.

5. skardos

skardos Guest

Local Time:
    8:54 PM
    I can't find the thread, but this is what Tom suggested and it worked great for my hair algae issue.

Do a 3 day blackout + daily water changes, + full Excel treatment.

I did mine for 4 days, I had a very bad infestation, I also sprayed the algae each day with hydrogen peroxide let it sit for about half an hour then did a 40% - 50% water change each day. During the blackout I stopped fertilizing and no co2. Have not seen any hair algae for 5 months.

6. Pikez

Pikez Rotala Killer!
    Staff Member Moderator

Local Time:
    arcman and jessy - pictures and more detail would help.