This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Good diffusing method

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by jtparsons, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    Along the lines of upgrades in Verkions post Im looking for a better way to diffuse co2. Ive run it into the intake of my over the back filter. Used a diffuser in tank in conjunction with the koralia in different orientations. They all work, but the most efficient has been putting the c02 line in the intake for the over the back filter. It didnt circulate around the tank as well, but gave me higher c02 levels for less bubbles a minute than other methods I tried. I didnt expect this when I tried it as I figured the surface agitation in the filter would let c02 escape. I would like to not see millions of c02 bubbles blowing all around the tank. An external diffuser seems to be the answer.
    -The in tank diffusers are ugly.
    -Is there a canister filter I could use that wont create more problems than its worth. And turn the tank into a whirlpool (15gal.) Ive read Toms info on using a canister, but is my tank to small to do it this way?
    -Ive seen some external diffusers available, but they seem like they are designed for large systems overkill?
    There must be a high quality efficient way to do this for a small tank (15gal)
     
  2. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
  3. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
  4. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,623
    Likes Received:
    18
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    Jt,

    I think it would work well, but unless you have a sump, it will be in the tank.

    Also, it may well produce mist which you indicate you don't want............

    You can always make a MUCH smaller version of Tom's external reactor but you would still need an in-tank pump and hose to power it and a return line, again unless you have a sump. The reactor can be outside the tank out of sight.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    GD,
    Thanks I must have totally missed something. This pump looked to me like it could be used not submersed. I see the water inlet in the picture with a barbed nipple for co2/o2 and the outlet back to tank. Is this pump submersable only the details dont say anything. Ill take a closser look at Tom's diffuser and see if I can figure out a small scale DIY thanks. -Jon
     
  6. jeff5614

    jeff5614 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    JT, I believe the pump you linked can be used externally.
     
  7. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    if its only 15 gals you might as well do a hagen ladder. They are small, clear and work well for small tanks. The LFS use em on the tanks they setup on the counter and sell.
     
  8. Graham

    Graham Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:54 PM
    I use the external PVC reactor method, but it is "powered" by my external Eheim Pro filter. Nice slow flow (160 GPH I think) for my 75 gallon. Plus, the output bar has the little holes that basically serve as a second reactor due to the flow bottleneck it creates. I don't see any microbubbles getting into the tank at all, so I can only assume the CO2 is completely aqueous for all intensive purposes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice