This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Glutaraldehyde

Discussion in 'Off Topic and Chat' started by Tug, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Tug

Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    11:07 PM
    Ok, I admit I'm no scientist but from what I have read on Glutaraldehyde, contraindications preventing you from using it in your vegetable garden at the concentrations we dose in the fish tank water we are disposing of do not exist. If anyone could point out the error of my ways, please do. The stuff is used in animal husbandry and a variety of agricultural settings for sanitisation and disinfection purposes. :uncomfortableness:

2. Matt F.

Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    It's good stuff! ;p It's also used for tanning leather and to clean butt scopes (the ones used for sigmoidoscopies and colonoscopies). Also dentist use it to disinfect dental tools, etc. It also breaks down rather quickly in a fish tank.

#2 Matt F., May 21, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 21, 2013
  3. Tom Barr

Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

Local Time:
    In garden soil, and by the time you remove the tank water, it's pretty much decomposed, no issues using lots of aquarium water where you added glut to the aquarium outside or on house plants.

If you spray Glut Excel on a house plant, it will kill it though.

4. Tug

Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time: