This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GLA Atomic Co2 Diffusers

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by barbarossa4122, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    As you guys most likely know GLA is selling these new Atomic Co2 Diffusers. Can you guys explain to me what this means:

    http://www.greenleafaquariums.com/co2-diffusers/atomic-diffuser-55.html

    Thank you.
     
  2. Jim Miller

    Jim Miller Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    It means they have really tiny holes to produce really tiny bubbles and as a result you have to blow really hard to make them work. I believe they're spec'd at 30psi rather than the "normal" 10-15psi most folks run.

    jim
     
  3. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim,

    If the "norm" is to run 10-15psi will it be OK to run 30psi ? In other words, can one run into problems running 30psi long term ?
     
  4. Jeremy1

    Jeremy1 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ask Orlando at GLA. He is very customer service friendly. Responds to e-mails very quickly.
     
  5. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just did and he said I should not have any problems. And yes, he's very helpful.
    I like to ask Co2 Qs here b/c I know some folks here are very knowledgeable on the subject.
     
  6. GillesF

    GillesF Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume it requires the same pressure as the inline atomizers. I'll be getting one of these for my nano tank and place it under the HOB filter. I think the effect will be much better than using a normal glass diffuser.
     
  7. Gilles

    Gilles Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    @GillesF: PSI is something different then "bar" we use here in europe. 30 psi equals arround 2 bar. I have my atomizer now working at ~36 PSI, since at 30PSI it did not produce the bubbles i wanted.
     
    #7 Gilles, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2010
  8. GillesF

    GillesF Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Gilles: I know. Are you using the same Up Aqua Atomizer? Mine works fine at 1,8 bar (26PSI).
     
  9. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know yet. I am still waiting for delivery.
     
Loading...

Share This Page