Gathering parts and info for wet dry filter, need advise and experience

bsantucci

Aug 22, 2014
Hi everyone,

I've been a lurker here for some time but am active on TPT. I've had my tank up for about 1.5 years now, but am now deciding to move on from cannisters to a wet dry filter setup. I've been slowly deciding on what to use for this. Can someone advise if the below will work and my ideas are correct

Tank is Mr. Aqua 48g.

HOB Overflow: Lifereef Single Slimline

Wet Dry Filter: Spare 10g tank I have with a wet dry kit I'm buying off ebay. Not sure if I can link ebay links here, but the seller has good reviews.

CO2: Pressurized CO2 and will run Cerges reactor in-line after the wet/dry.

Pump: Jebao DC-3000 (going with this as I believe it will be strong enough to handle the Cerges in-line

Return: Standard U-tube return with adjustable neck (may switch to spraybar later)

Aside from this I'm still learning before I set this up. I keep reading the Lifereef will not break siphon. That being said, do I still drill a hole in the return near the water line to avoid flooding?

For plumbing, should I go mostly PVC, Flex PVC, or can I use regular eheim tubing?

Is a 10g housing enough for a 48g tank? I think so, but want to be sure. I'm just going to have my heater in there, nothing more aside from bio balls(better than ceramic rings?) and sponge for mechanical filtration (is that correct?).

Is the Jebao too much flow for the Cerges to be run straight in line? I plan to tone down the Jebao to a lower setting. Wondering though if running a second pump from the wet/dry to the Cergest and back into the wet/dry for the Jebao to feed back in the tank is a better idea?

Thanks in advance for any insight and expertise you may lend!

Last edited by a moderator:
Mar 20, 2013
US
PUMP: Jebao has a new DCT model of the DC pump, supposedly more efficient than the old DC models.

TUBING: flexible tubing would be easier to manage and install than hard PVC pipe.