Fungus on Elodea

jgresens

Junior Poster
Dec 21, 2012
Hi all
I work in a lab and we keep Elodea canadensis in large tubs of water (dechlorinated with activated charcoal) under full-spectrum light. We use the plants mostly for preparing slides, or to provide to teachers for photosynthesis/cell division lessons. Typically we buy from a vendor on a regular basis and re-stock our tubs.

Recently I've heard that the slides-folks are seeing fungus on their slide-preps made from my Elodea. They've been making these slides for years, and have never seen this issue before, so I'm looking at this as an early warning of something that could further develop if not addressed now. I'm not seeing much in the way of die-off with the plants themselves, but I'd like to nip this fungus-issue in the bud (pardon the pun). Incidentally, I think the fungus came in on a shipment from our vendor. I'm following that up and am looking at replacement but would like to still look at treatment options to see if I can get rid of it on the plants.

Does anyone have any experience with fungicides that can be used for aquatic plants? I know salt and vinegar are both pretty good at eliminating fungus, but they can't possibly be good for the plants.
Would love any input you can provide.
Thanks and happy holidays, al!
-Jill

aquabillpers

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Jan 24, 2005
I wonder if soaking them in a 5% bleach solution for two or three minutes would help? Anybody have any thoughts?

Bill

Rhizomorph

Junior Poster
Feb 24, 2015
Are you sure it's fungal? Some of the water moulds look like fungi but aren't -- and this is going to effect how you go about treating it. Most of the treatments typically aren't great as all these organisms are eukaryotes (and thus pretty similar) so you can't easily target cell wall synthesis etc. -- Rhizomorph.

Tom Barr

Founder
Staff member
Administrator
Jan 23, 2005