This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

Flow rate

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by Frolicsome_Flora, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a fluval 304 external canister filter, and the flow rate is really very high for my little 37 gallon tank.

    Does anyone know of any mods that can be done to lower the flow rate without causing a scary strong pull at the inlet? Wondering if the impeller could be altered/replaced or something like that. I could do with taking the flow down by half.
     
  2. Vidar Vekve

    Vidar Vekve Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm... I thought this canister was one of the few that has adjustable flow rate?
    Then again I could be wrong. I had one 4 - 5 years ago and there might be several generations of the filter. I think mine was called 304 MSF and it had this adjustable clamp (aquastop?)...
     
  3. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    alas no, i wish it was though.
     
  4. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    21
    You can get a small "ball" valve to place in the filter output and use it to restrict the flow. Restricting the inlet flow is hard on the filter pump, but restricting the output won't hurt it. I had one of those Fluval 304 filters on the 120 gallon tank I had, and it was too little flow for that size, so I had the opposite problem.
     
  5. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    339
    I just change the direction of flow.
    Just have the flow hit the back wall, add more holes to the spray bar, shoot most of the current into the wood/plant beds etc to reduce the flow. This can keep those dead areas under the wood good and clean. You can also direct some of the flow downward intio the gravel layer.

    Play around with it, you should be fine with that filter on that tank size.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  6. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting ideas, thanks guys.

    Right now its just got the standard fluval outlet which pressurises it quite alot, ive actually thought maybe of splitting the flow with a T piece, I have quite a few dead spots around.. such is the way of annoying 4 foot, 12 inch wide tanks.

    Do you think a spray bar might be better, maybe aligned from one end pointing to the other?

    edit: just been looking at plumbing fittings, lots of sizes, my fluval hose is about 20mm(ish). Do you glue them into the fittings? (like the T peices etc)
     
  7. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,471
    Likes Received:
    339
    You certainly should not reduce the flow in such a long tank.

    Experiment around with differing flow patterns

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  8. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive taken the fluted outlet off, and just have the pipe outflowing with nothing on it.. soooo much better, taken the edge off the initial boost, but left the volume of water moving around. So I think thats much much better :) it also seems to move the bigger bubbles from my mister about better as well.. so im happy bunny now :)
     
  9. dcheese44

    dcheese44 Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about adding to the head length? Like inserting a piece of tubing, there'ld be some math involved though.
     
  10. dcheese44

    dcheese44 Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't glue em , use zip ties of a pleasurable color...
     
Loading...

Share This Page