Few Q's from newbie

brettmck

Junior Poster
Aug 22, 2008
Hi all,

I am a newbie here and would like to ask a few questions. Firstly my tank is a 90x60x60 approx 320L, running a eheim 2028 for filtration. Lighting is two 150w MH bulbs. I have used a thick layer of ADA malaya substrate and was using the ADA ferts but now it is getting too expensive to continue, my plants are

Aponogeton vanbruggenii
Marsilea hirsuta
Pogostemon stellatus
Cryptocoryne wendtii
Echinodorus tenellus
Rotala sp. green

CIMG2477.jpg

I am using co2 at 2bps at present. pH 6.8, kH 2, i never get any readings of NH4 or nitrite and only small amounts of nitrate. I use a liquid fert from a local aquatic plant nursery.

1. I have some potassium carbonate powder to raise my kH (my target is 4) and to supply potassium. How do i work out how much to dilute in de mineralized water? is it just guess work.

2. I occasionally get an algae bloom and the water turns a shade of green, is this underfertization or over? or not the right amount of co2.

3. when the water clears up i get algae growing on the leafs of my crypts but know where else, how to combat this.

I get really good growth at the moment but now i am trying to find a stable balance and keep the tank looking good. hope thats not too many questions all at once

Thanks
Brett

VaughnH

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Jan 24, 2005
Sacramento, CA
That is about an 85 gallon tank, so you will need more than 2 bubbles per second of CO2 to get the CO2 concentration in the water up to the 30 ppm or so level that you need to be able to use that much light.