This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

External pump for CO2 reactor

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by ilaizm, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. ilaizm

    ilaizm Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:04 AM
    I am thinking of connecting my Aqua Medic CO2 Reactor 1000 to an external pump in a separate loop to my filter. I am looking at the Eheim pumps - Should I go for the Eheim 1260 pump? Or is that too much flow in to the reactor? I know I can reduce the flow using a 'T' connector but i'd like to keep it simple. I'm considering the 1260 as i'm worried the next one down, the 1250 is not strong enough. Or do you think the 1250 should be enough?
     
    #1 ilaizm, Mar 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2010
  2. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local Time:
    7:04 AM
    ilaizm,

    I have a 375 gph pump on my AM1000. Works great. The least amount of flow I used on an AM1000 was 200 gph. The 1250 should be strong enough.

    Regards,
    dutchy.
     
  3. ilaizm

    ilaizm Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:04 AM
    My worry is that at 1 meter high the flow of the 1250 is 158 gph. I really would like to use an Eheim pump, but I think I will have to look for a different brand if the 1250 is too weak and the 1260 too powerful
     
  4. hani

    hani Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    7:04 AM
    i used it with 1250 works fine, then went with ocean runner 2500 more flow, i had to throtel down a toch, if you go more than that you will start seeing bubbles going out of the reactor to the tank (not bad too if you dont mind that).
    by the way, the OR was as quite as ehiem
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice