This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

excess phosphates?

Discussion in 'Advanced Strategies and Fertilization' started by john b., May 24, 2005.

  1. john b.

    john b. Junior Poster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tested my phosphates today before adding macros and my phoshate level is higher then what I've added to the tank so far this week.In other words, I added about 2 ppm on Sunday and now the reading is well over 3 ppm.My tap doesn't contain any detectable amount and I deffinately don't overfeed my fish. I know I shouldn't trust the reading but would just like to know what in a planted tank can make phosphate levels go up? Is it possible that a peice of driftwood could do this? I recently read about contaminated Eco- Complete, but I have a flourite substrate.Thanks for the help,
    John
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,458
    Likes Received:
    323
    Re: excess phosphates?

    It's most likely a cheapo test kit.
    Most tanks eat PO4 like no tomorrow.

    If you add CO2, KNO3, then you should see a lot of PO4 decline.
    No, no substrate PO4 in flourite.

    EC has issues, but PO4 really is not one of them. Light weight and large grain sizes are. I had hope for it initially.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. oveb

    oveb Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    I experiensed exactly the same thing with my tank. It "eats" a lot more KNO3 than PO4. I add just below 10ppm NO3 and 1 ppm PO4 each day (1 W/liter MH) and PO4 rises to more than 5ppm in the end of the week. I have very few "starving" fish.

    I only have Eleocharis Acicularis in the tank and uses JBL's droptests.

    I find this a bit annoying...
     
  4. groovyfishguy

    groovyfishguy Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Whats the size of your tank and your co2 level?
     
  5. oveb

    oveb Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Here are some details:
    KH4
    Ph 6.3-6.4 (Aquamedic controller)
    No driftwood
    300 liter
    9 Watt UV-C
    Eheim 2028

    I just changed 75% water and PO4 sank down to ~1ppm again.

    The only small problem I have is that I get small amounts of cyano sometimes. Not a big concern of mine.
     
  6. groovyfishguy

    groovyfishguy Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Maybe a Guru will chime in but I found a thread on apc where tom said daily po4 consumption rates were .2ppm to .8 ppm so if you are adding 1ppm per day you will always have a buildup. even though a 50% water change will bring things back a bit maybe you should bump it down a bit?
     
  7. oveb

    oveb Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Sounds logical, it the huge difference in consumtion that puzzles me...

    If I add 10ppm's of nitrat every day it's all gone in the end of the week, during the same period I add 5-6 ppm's of phosphate and almost all of it is still there after a week...

    A bit strange I think...
     
  8. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,458
    Likes Received:
    323
    Re: excess phosphates?

    I doubt it hurts adding that much.

    But the tank does not need that much.
    Hair grass grows pretty fast once well established........

    I'd add more KNO3 and a bit less PO4 myself.
    JBL test kits are not the most reliable, don't put too much faith into them unless you have calibrated them.

    PO4 and NO3 hobby kits are fairly squirrlely.


    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  9. oveb

    oveb Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Thanks all !

    I'm trying to calibrate an auto-fertilizer that's why this is so interesting to me.

    I'll lower the PO4 dose and watch out for lightgreen spots.
     
  10. srozell

    srozell Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

     
  11. andrewmcleod

    andrewmcleod Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    Isn't there a rough 10:1 N:p ratio for this? i.e. 10ppm of nitrate to 1ppm of phosphate? (accounting for the fact that fish food is heavy in N and light in P)
     
  12. oveb

    oveb Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: excess phosphates?

    One of these !

    http://www.iks-usa.com/pumps.html

    Pumps something like 35 ml/minute.

    Thinking about mixing KNO3 and Micro in a 10 liter can and pump one liter into the tank every day right before lights turns on.
     
Loading...

Share This Page