This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Excel / glutaraldehyde decomposition mechanisms and impact to automatic dosing

Discussion in 'Non-CO2 Methods' started by brownleaf, Jan 24, 2017.

1. brownleaf

brownleaf Subscriber

Local Time:
    4:42 AM
    Hi experts,

I've been running happily with my non-CO2 cold water tank for about 9 months, and was looking for a small bump in plant growth rate without the cost and extra maintenance of CO2. I started dosing Excel and was pleased with the results, just enough growth to recover from occasional damage and keep the plants visibly growign without inducing a lot of additional weekly maintenance. This is all just context for my question. While the Excel is working for me, I have frequent business trips away from home and a busy schedule so the daily manual doses would be erratic if not automated. To solve this I built an automated Arduino-based pump and light controller to dose teh Excel daily each morning (uses a peristaltic pump) and control the lights. Its all working great, but I wonder about whether the Excel will remain stable/active in the tubing of the dosing system.