This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Enough Plants?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by RedDragon, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. RedDragon

    RedDragon Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Hey everybody. Was wanting to get everybodys opinion on whether or not I have enough plants as I am getting what I think is GDA. I have a 55gal, pressurized CO2, cannister filter, and 220W lights. My phosphates are off the charts no matter how many watter changes that I do and NO3 in the 60's. I use AP test kits, I know they are not the best. When I test the tap water Phosphates read 1 degree but when I test the tank water it is off the charts (solid dark blue). The city reports verify 1 degree phosphates. I have even tried starting over with pure RO/DI water with the same result. I have no fish as I did not want to kill any trying to figure out the CO2 thing. I have lots of growth now but still have GDA (I think). The water looks like it has little fibers floating around. I have tried using a Diatom filter and the stuff just comes back the next day. I would appreaciate any help. Here are a couple pics.
    Thanks
    RD:confused:
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    606
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    That is a great deal of lighting for the tank, not enough plants also.
    Pack 2-3x that amount and reduce the lighting to 110w till things settle down.
    Add some excel in the meantime to beat the algae back also.

    The rest is CO2/dosing.

    Given your tap, just do 50-70% weekly water changes and add:

    1/2 teaspoon GH booster after water change

    3x a week:
    1/4 teaspoon KNO3(later, 1/2)
    1/8 teaspoon PO4
    TMG or traces 10mls

    That should do it.

    The rest is all CO2.

    Oncwe ther tank does well, then you have a good handle on CO2, then add the 220w for maybe 3-4 hours in the middle of the day.

    No more than 10 hours light per day.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. RedDragon

    RedDragon Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Thanks Tom, Will do and will post results in a couple of weeks. Also do I need to add K2SO4?

    RD:)
     
  4. Professor Myers

    Professor Myers Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Ro/di ?

    Which is it ? Many DI units can actually add Phosphates in the IE process. It depends on the active cation resin used. Stick with R/O if possible. The Phosphate can be removed with a Fluidized filter, and Rowaphos, but you run the risk of removing ALL the Phosphates, and that is even worse IMHO since new growth is either absent or corrupted beyond repair.

    Phosphates do not directly effect algae blooms. That is a one size fits all marketing myth, that sells alot of product !!! :D ...Rant Off ! :eek:

    Yes excess phosphate can "contribute" to algae blooms, but only in the absence of good nutrition, and maintenance. Many algaes and bacteria grow just fine in the absence of Phosphates. Plants on the other hand wither, and eventually die. A robust growth rate of plants will always out compete algae in the long run. HTH. Prof M
     
  5. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    606
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    You will get plenty if K+ from the Gh booster and the K in from KNO3.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  6. RedDragon

    RedDragon Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    All Better

    Hey Tom, Thanks for the help. My tank is looking awesome. The water is crystal clear and the plants are growing like crazy. I even have one that keeps flowering. Again thanks for you help.

    RD

    fish tank 2.JPG
     
  7. Jimbob

    Jimbob Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Out of curiosity, have you kept the lighting at the reduced 110W, or have you bumped it back up to 220W?
     
  8. RedDragon

    RedDragon Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Lighting

    Jimbob,
    I have kept the lighting at 110W. I tried to up the lighting but it was too much and algea started growing even after uping the CO2.
     
  9. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    606
    Local Time:
    8:28 PM
    Wait till the plants fill in more and start by adding 1 hour, then 2, then 4 etc each week and noting changes.

    It'll namely be due to CO2, as that is the largest "nutrient" that is used when you increase growth rates, 45% of the plant's dry weight is Carbon and it all comes from CO2.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
Loading...

Share This Page