This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Support us by upgrading to the lifetime advertisement free version.

    Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Eheim Substrat Pro replacement

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by barbarossa4122, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    #1 barbarossa4122, Aug 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2010
  2. Biollante

    Biollante Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Replace What? How Often? How Much?

    Hi,

    I have no experience with Eheim Substrat pro (or ametuer) or any other commercial substrate so I really cannot answer specifically. :eek:

    I replace my substrates (homemade) about every 14 years… Whenever I redo a tank, though I tend to reuse a lot of stuff because I am cheap :eek: and figure the substrate has been enriched over the course of its use. :)

    Biollante
     
  3. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Hi Bio,

    Thanks.
     
  4. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    7:13 PM
    Eheim Substrat Pro is filter media, Bio.
     
  5. Ekrindul

    Ekrindul Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    I just rinse mine in tank water whenever I clean my canister filter, like once every 4 to 6 weeks. I don't spend alot of time on it either. I think the recomendation to replace it is probably more helpful to Eheim's bottom line than the overall health of your tank. I suppose if you noticed the flow greatly deteriorate and couldn't find any other cause (clogged tubing, dirty impeller, etc) then you might try replacing the filter media, but I would never replace more than 50% at a time, more like a third actually.
     
  6. kelleyc

    kelleyc Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Ditto for me as well. I wouldn't follow Eheim's recommendation.
     
  7. dbazuin

    dbazuin Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    I have replaced mij substrat after a year of 10 use. Just because I thought that the new substrat pro that you can buy now has a better flow because of the round shape.
    Just rinse with aquarium water and keep on using it and spend your money on other things.
     
  8. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Thank you all. It looks my bio new media will stay in my filters for a long time.
     
  9. Biollante

    Biollante Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Oops!

    Hi,

    Oops! :eek:

    Never mind! :)

    Biollante
     
  10. barbarossa4122

    barbarossa4122 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:13 AM
    Hey Bio,

    You are confusing me:)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice