This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Eco Complete Vs Aqua Soil?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by Crazymidwesterner, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Crazymidwesterner

    Crazymidwesterner Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    Getting some new substrate in a couple weeks to replace my red soilmaster. Soilmaster was fine but not very pleasant to look at.

    Cost is not a factor. For growth what is best Eco Complete or some dark aqua soil. I have a 75 Gallon tank that is pretty heavily planted.

    Will I have to completely re-cycle with either of these?

    Thank you in advance for the input.
     
  2. captain_bu

    captain_bu Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    If cost is not a factor Aqua Soil is considered the best nutrient rich substrate. One downside to Aqua Soil though is the amount of ammonia that it leaches when new. Be prepared for a lot of water changes for the first month or so. If you start up the tank with an established filter it will shorten the cycling time but you would need to wait until the ammonia spikes are gone to put your fish back in the tank. I have never read any complaints about the quality of growth people get with Aqua Soil but it may not be a good choice for you if you tend to constantly uproot and move plants.
     
  3. Crazymidwesterner

    Crazymidwesterner Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    I am not the best at leaving my plants alone. I would say I uproot at least once every six months. I enjoy tear down and setup a little too much and don't want to get more tanks. Will the different sustrates be better or worse for that? I know you need to do WC after any major uprooting with any susbstrate but will one cause more issues then the other?
     
  4. Crazymidwesterner

    Crazymidwesterner Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    also if I went with aquasoil how many 9 liter bags do you think I would need for 48x18 75 Gallon tank?
     
  5. captain_bu

    captain_bu Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    Rescaping at 6 month intervals does not qualify as constantly uprooting and moving, you should be fine. As you point out it is important to do a large water change after rescaping with any substrate. I used three and a half nine liter bags in a 48" x 12.5" 50 gallon tank and have a nicely sloped deep bed to work with. I suggest you get four 9 liter bags for your 75. That should cover you for any depth and contour that you decide on.
     
  6. eyebeatbadgers

    eyebeatbadgers Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    Since Aquasoil is measured in volume (liters), all you have to do is find the volume of tank area that you want to be substrate, easiest to do in cubic inches, and convert to liters (cubic millimeters).

    48" x 18" x 3" = 2592 in.^3 ~~ 42.5 Liters (using an online converter is easiest)

    42.5 Liters / 9 liters per bag = 4.7 bags

    You can change this calculation based on soil depth.
     
  7. Crazymidwesterner

    Crazymidwesterner Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    I think I will go that way. Thanks a bunch folks!
     
  8. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,676
    Likes Received:
    641
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    BTW, you can deep vacuum ADA AS easily, throttle the hose so to not pull up the sediment, but the dust/mulm.

    Just like hard grain sediments.

    It's folks that mash the sediment, compact and shred it up that causes issues.
    Also, it creates a lot of dust/mulm, so do a large water change after redoing to tank and uprooting, or learn to top more and do less uprooting/reduced uprooting.

    That and the occasional deep vacuum when you uproot a % of the gravel bed. Say 20-30% each week. Do that once every 3-6 months, and you will be fine.

    It's not that much different than say EC/flourite to me.
    But grows plants better.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  9. Panda

    Panda Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM

    sorry I didn't get the math !!

    I'm looking at an ADA tank (60P) that measures 24x12x14 inches. How many bags should I buy ?. BTW Which one do you suggest :
    Aqua Soil- Amazonia (9 liters)- Normal Type or
    Aqua Soil- Amazonia II (9 liters)- Normal Type

    Thanks

    is it 1.57 bags...2 bags ?? which one is best for CO2, high light, HC, shrimp etc ?
     
  10. Panda

    Panda Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    can anyone help me with the one above this one ?
    thanks
     
  11. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    I checked your math - it looks good to me. So, 2 bags should be enough for a 3" thick substrate. CO2 is good for virtually any aquarium with plants in it. Substrate doesn't affect CO2's value. "High" light tends to somewhat be in the eye of the beholder. In my opinion, based on my experience and comments by Tom and others, if you use T5 lights, with individual reflectors for the bulbs, even 1.5 watts per gallon is high light, and if you use AH Supply light kits, 2 watts per gallon is high light (my experience). Those numbers are based on the light fixture sitting on top of the tank. If it is suspended above the tank the intensity depends on how high above the substrate you suspend it. That is true no matter what substrate you use.
     
  12. Pockets

    Pockets Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:55 AM
    AquaSoil is a much better product!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice