This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Dual Stage Regulators

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by Left C, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. S&KGray

    S&KGray Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    I have pics of a DIN 477 #10 (nitrogen) nut and nipple in this thread: Linde regulator question (German model)

    I was asking for help to convert that regulator for CO2 use in the US.
     
  2. GillesF

    GillesF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    #2342 GillesF, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2013
  3. Thraen78

    Thraen78 Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    New here

    Long time lurker but I'm ready to ask for help/join this club of reg owners. Ok so after messing around with DIY co2 for a couple of months and noticing the ups and downs it creates with growth I decided to start looking into pressurized, read all the topics here and in other forums. Looked at all the pretty pics of set ups put up by leftc, bettatail, old punk(love the pic of the chick with purple eyeshadow over at pt) et al, and decided I wanted a shiny 2 stage, looked all around trying to find something inexpensive and came across a concoa 212 on eBay that was listed at .99 open to bid. Well I won for 1.04

    http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?icep_ff3=2&toolid=10001&campid=5338187531&icep_item=350716025086

    I know the thing is in sad shape but I figure I'm starting at next to nothing invested. So my questions,
    Will any set of guages that I put on the thing work or do I need to source concoas. Intuition tells me guage is guage is guage as long as threads are the same has proper range and it's rated for gas use. Second question. I want the post body as compact and tight as possible. I was thinking 90 out straight down into solenoid (Burkert 6011 ss) 90 out straight forward into metering valve (ideal V52-1-12 chromed) pointing up and then check valve then tubing adaptor, or possible tubing with check valve inline a few inches off so as to see if fluid as flowed back.
    Am I on the right track here? Let me know.
     
  4. kevmo911

    kevmo911 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    You can put any gauge on it. You can probably even leave the low pressure gauge on it, though it'll be extremely vague. The reg itself has a high output range (though not as high as the gauge) of 200 psi, which is still very high - higher than anybody would recommend. Still, it'll work. If you wanted, you should be able to score a matching set of simple brass gauges for maybe $30 shipped.

    The post body sounds pretty standard, and should look nice. I prefer the inline check valve (option number two that you mentioned).

    Overall, sounds like a plan!
     
  5. Thraen78

    Thraen78 Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Thank you for the quick response. I'm glad my suspicions about gauges was correct and i may just leave the ugly mis-matched brass one on there for awhile and concentrate on getting it up and running first, save a little short term. I'm aware the pressure range is extreme. I was actually looking for a reg in in the sub 100psi range but couldn't resist the price of basically free. I have a cerges reactor on my tank so psi control isn't super important I'll just dial it back far enough that the solenoid and metering valve can handle it. Nobody will mess with it in my house so it shouldn't ever get turned up. Plan is to put together a rock solid post body and therefor if I ever feel I need better control I can get a new reg then. Meantime my plants get a steady stream of life stuff.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  6. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Oreo built a nice looking Concoa. I don't know if you have seen it, but here is his post. I like the look with the small gauges and the vertical orientation.

     
  7. D-Linquent

    D-Linquent New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Edit: I had posted some questions, but they are unnecessary now. I'm going to follow the noob guide and put together my own. Thank you so much for all of the effort you guys have put into this forum. You have made this project seem manageable. I can't wait to put everything together.

    I think I'm going to use the VTS250 (mainly because there are serveral available on ebay.) We'll see how it goes. Fingers crossed...
     
    #2347 D-Linquent, Feb 27, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2013
  8. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,693
    Likes Received:
    726
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    The Vert dials are a simple and awesome look/idea.
     
  9. GillesF

    GillesF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Holy crap, that Concoa regulator looks AWESOME and the price is great too. I assume this was a second hand regulator?
    I'd love to have one like that but overseas shipping would be a pain.

    By the way, I've noticed that regulators for horticulture use "flow meters". What does it do? And is it useful for aquariums?

    Cheers
     
  10. Darkblade48

    Darkblade48 Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    The flow meter is probably like the low pressure gauge on regulators. However, as their name implies, rather than measuring the pressure, they just measure the flow rate of a gas (think of CO2 and argon welding regulators that do the same).
     
  11. GillesF

    GillesF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    So it can indicate a CO2 bottle running empty?
     
  12. oldpunk

    oldpunk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    4
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    A flow meter? No.
     
  13. oldpunk

    oldpunk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    4
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Made my 1st 2-stage Swagelok regulator this afternoon. This thing weighs a ton.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. thegasman

    thegasman Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Very nice. Where's the check valve going to be/ what type?
     
  15. oldpunk

    oldpunk Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    4
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Thank you. I have a Swagelok check valve I'm going to run inline a couple inches out from the metering valve.
     
  16. D-Linquent

    D-Linquent New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    [attachment=1469:name]

    My first regulator is done. I should be able to see how well it works tomorrow. But for now at least, it works perfectly!

    Thanks again for all of the effort you guys have put into this forum. I wouldn't have even thought to do this without all of your posts. I'm pumped to get this system up and running.

    20130405_152028.jpg
     
  17. Thraen78

    Thraen78 Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    In the spirit of sharing first regs. Here's mine. I liked Oreos a lot so I imitated. View attachment 4320
    The blue is "mega tape" thicker version of pipe tape. All stainless swagelok Burkett and an ideal post body. Concoa 212 reg. I like it! Thank you to those who have blazed the trail for the rest of us to follow.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21365796834.028010.jpg
     
  18. herns

    herns Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Working Pressure Gauge not working properly

    I have Victor VTS320A that I have been using for almost 2 years now. It was brand new when I first use.
    After siwtching from Co2 atomizer to CO2 glass diffuser, I notice the working pressure neddle gauge goes up to 25 psi overnight when the CO2 is turned off. In the morning when CO2 is turned on, the gauge neddle goes back to 10 psi. The bps setting is not affected by this cycle.

    Is there a way to fix this or it's fine to leave it this way?
     
  19. Matt F.

    Matt F. Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    4
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    The static to working pressure difference should not be that much. 5-8 psi max. Otherwise something else is going on. Also does the static pressure rise over time if the solenoid is closed? This could be the first case of a damaged low pressure regulator (A range) due to a higher pressure atomizer-style diffuser. Also double check that model number. I don't recognize a VTS320A. Did you mean a VTS253A-1993? or a VTS253A-320?

     
    #2359 Matt F., May 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2013
  20. herns

    herns Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local Time:
    3:35 PM
    Hi Matt,


    The pressure gauge needle does not change when the solenoid is off.

    I tried turning off the solenoid for a couple of hours and both inlet and working pressure do not change. But, shutting off overnight until the solenoid turns on at 2pm the working pressure reaches to 25 psi.

    I was also thinking it was the atomizer. I have the working pressure dialed to max when I run the up aqua.
    The Victor model was VTS253A-320. Sorry, I didn't get that right. I was in a hurry typing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice