This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

DSM - Dry Start Method

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by JATIN, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. JATIN

    JATIN Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:09 AM
    Greetings!

    I would like to confirm the following sequence before using DSM method (Tom Barr):

    Is this correct?
    1. Add potting soil (or ADA Aquatic soil, etc.) to a new empty tank.
    2. Saturate soil with water (not flood).
    3. Add sand/gravel layer on top (1.5 inch??)
    4. Put plant roots through the gravel into the soil underneath.

    I may have dropped a few steps, but I am concerned about the sequence of #2-4 above. Also, please comment if any of the steps above are incorrect or not required.

    Thanks!
    Jatin
     
  2. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    10:09 PM
    That's correct, except you don't need to cap ADA Aqua Soil. You "plant" the plants if you want, but I moreso just place them on the substrate and give them a little "push" down. I don't really plant them. My HC took off just fine being placed on the soil, and my Stauro is growing fine. I don't recall the thread, but I believe it was pat w or maybe Wet that was writing about stem plants multiplying when you lie them down..something about regrowing vertically from each node.

    Ensure you do not keep the top of the subtrate soaked. It's humidity you're looking for, not moisture. Saran wrap the top and that's that. Mist the tank as you feel is needed.
     
  3. JATIN

    JATIN Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:09 AM
    Thanks C. Smith

    Quoting you here:
    >> My HC took off just fine being placed on the soil

    So did you place the HC on soil or gravel?
    If soil, then how did you add gravel later on before flooding?

    Thanks!
    Jatin
     
  4. Gerryd

    Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,624
    Likes Received:
    20
    Local Time:
    4:09 AM
    Hi Jatin,

    The HC can either be planted gently in the substrate, or allowed to find it's own roots to the substrate.

    Better if you can break the plant into several smaller sections so that when it starts to spread, the sections will connect and fill in.

    The idea is NOT to add any additional substrate with the DSM. The plant growth will help cycle the NH4 and the tank will be ready for fish upon flooding. If the area is planted, why would you want to add more substrate? Sorry I don't understand this question, I guess :)

    Adding it to non planted areas is fine, but then that substrate will NOT be cycled as the rest.

    Hope this makes sense...
     
  5. JATIN

    JATIN Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:09 AM
    Thanks Gerry!

    My concern is that post flooding, what is it that keeps the soil from mixing with water and making it muddy?
     
  6. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    10:09 PM
    That is going to happen a little anyway, but the plants rooting into the soil does deter it a bit. After you fill with water do a few water changes, wait a few days and the problem is gone.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice