This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dosing Question

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plant Fertilization' started by catalyst, Mar 3, 2011.

1. catalyst

catalyst Junior Poster

I am new to planted aquariums and want to know what I really need to add. I have a 125 gallon tank with pool filter sand. It has all t5 powerglows (2 4'@54watts, 2 2'@24watts, and 2 3'@39watts). I only have Vallisneria plants they have been growing about one new bunch a month with about 4 leaves in a bunch. They usually take about 3 to 4 weeks to hit the surface. I have been avoiding adding anything to the water, but the plants are not deep green and some leaves are a light brown. They also fray and tear easily.

I don't want to use CO2 and I would like to not have to add a lot of testing to my routine. I was reading this http://www.barrreport.com/showthread.php/433-Non-CO2-methods

Forgive me if I don't know what I am talking about. The article said to add KNO3, KH2PO4, and SeaChem Equilibrium. Seeing my plants are growing do I really need to add all of those? If so would I use the same amounts with my situation? Thanks for any help.

2. dutchy

dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

Your plants are growing, but they seem to be limited by some deficiency.

In most cases a planted tank doesn't generate enough nutrition for the plants, coming from fish waste, food etc. So if you don't add, basically you are starving your plants. Maybe the amount of plants increased over time and what was enough yesterday, is a deficiency today. The only way to prevent that, and your problems, is to add the nutrition they need, as mentioned in the non CO2 article.