This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Do you have a wet/dry filter? O2 increase idea and question....

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by fablau, Apr 29, 2017.

1. fablau

fablau rotalabutterfly.com
    Staff Member Moderator

Local Time:
    6:24 PM
    Hello everyone,

as many of you know, I use a wet/dry filter in my 75gl hi-tech tank, as I have explained in depth in my own tank journal:

http://www.barrreport.com/forum/barr...75-gallon-tank

And I am questioning the way I have been using it for the past 10 years... the way I fill it is at around 1 inch over the bottom strainer of the first pre-filter and wet/dry section, as you can see from the pictures below:

wet0.jpg

wet1.jpg

I also keep a little bit open the pre-filter cover in order to increase O2 intake and allow me to increase Co2 to very high pH drops without bothering the fish... well, I have realized just now that if I let the water level go lower than the beottom strainer, I'll probably be able to add much more oxygen to the mix, and that could also help with degassing, etc... maybe avoiding me to use an airstone at night, etc...

So, my question is: to all the dry/weters owners out there, how do you set your sump water level? Above or under the pre-filter strainer?

Thanks in advance to anyone!

Save

Save

#1 fablau, Apr 29, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    2 people like this.
  2. Dennis Singh

Dennis Singh SynKing!

Local Time:
    I set mine as high as i can cause it just keeps evaporating lower. Why people seal their sumps or modify them i haven't a clue, pretty close results.

3. Christophe

Christophe Subscriber