This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Dimmer For Twinstar 900s Led

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by rs18alpha, Jul 10, 2018.

  1. rs18alpha

    rs18alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local Time:
    1:04 PM
    Does anyone know what type of dimmer will work with my twinstar?
    I've tried a few but the connectors won't match up, the dimmer plugs are too big.
     
  2. Wobblebonk

    Wobblebonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local Time:
    8:04 AM
    I don't know if it's the same connector but these are reported to work with a 600E
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XXJW94Q/
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GDIXYGU/
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M7TGZ9B/

    A crazy person like me would wire it to a meanwell PWM-90-24 (assuming it's a 24v psu) and a controller for ramp timing etc... Or wire this to a controller and put it inline between the original psu and light https://www.ebay.com/itm/5V-36V-PWM-Adjust-Control-MOS-FET-Trigger-Switch-Driving-Modul-400W-15A-With-LED-/332603419561 with something like https://www.pololu.com/product/2449 and https://www.pololu.com/product/2448 if you don't want to cut up your wires :O or you could (should) make an enclosure with panel mount plugs to have all the exposed stuff not exposed :/ (one side will probably need a male to female 2.1mm cable they don't sell the jack version of barrel connectors in panel mount afaik)
     
    #2 Wobblebonk, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
  3. rs18alpha

    rs18alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local Time:
    1:04 PM
    Ok, two of those say for a single color. Does the dimmer need to say it's for a RBG?
    Does single color mean it only dims one color at a time? Will it dim all the colors at once when hooked up to an LED that has RGB ?
     
    #3 rs18alpha, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
    toads74 likes this.
  4. Wobblebonk

    Wobblebonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local Time:
    8:04 AM
    A
    Afaik twinstars have only one channel so no those would have wasted connections...
     
  5. rs18alpha

    rs18alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local Time:
    1:04 PM
    I don't ramp up with the twinstar. I have a smaller light that comes on first. Is it possible to plug the light into a wall out let that has a dimmer? In stead of cutting the wires on the led and wiring it to the meanwell.
     
  6. Wobblebonk

    Wobblebonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local Time:
    8:04 AM
    There's no reason to switch to the meanwell if you don't intend to use a ramp timer or something... You need to dim the DC not the ac. It's not wired directly to its psu is it? You could just use the bare wires on the meanwell into one of those barrel plug/terminal block things and plug the light into that but you need to attach the power plug and a pwm controller to the meanwell also. Otherwise use one of the inline dimmers and a wall timer
     
  7. rs18alpha

    rs18alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local Time:
    1:04 PM
    Thanks for the info. I'll figure something out..
     
  8. Nate

    Nate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    6:34 PM
    Hello, well I just going to suggest the one I am using right now is
    AC Light Dimmer 750W 2-Channel x 375W 120VAC 60Hz Single Circuit
    and its giving good output with 255 (0-254) levels of brightness control and most amazing thing is you can change the AC timing characteristics, it includes 3 profiles which help to change our settings to match the types of lights we intend to control.
     
    #8 Nate, Jul 18, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
  9. Wobblebonk

    Wobblebonk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local Time:
    8:04 AM
    Or you can get one of these that only works on 120v/60hz, starts at 338$, and have to cut up a power cable from your psu (or at least make a power cable that ends in wires... twice, or wire it directly into your mains and I don't think you sound experienced enough in this to suggest such a thing.)
     
  10. skija

    skija Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    73
    Local Time:
    1:04 PM
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice