This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Coralline Algae lighting

Discussion in 'Marine Plants - Macroalgae' started by feh, Feb 3, 2012.

1. feh

feh Guru Class Expert

Local Time:
    2:17 PM
    Whats considered too much light for coralline algae?

2. Biollante

Biollante Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    What Little I Know...

Hi,

This is not something I have a lot of experience with, but this is my experience and what I think I know.

I understand that it rather depends on the species, generally though that it does well in low to moderate light, preferring the blue end of the spectrum. That high Calcium and low phosphates are important.

In my FOWLR Coralline algae grows abundantly and colorfully in rather low light. I didn’t choose the Coralline algae it came in, I assume on the live rock. So for all I know if I had high light maybe another type would grow.

Biollante

3. feh

feh Guru Class Expert

Local Time: