This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Consistent CO2 and how it should be done?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by ityo39, Apr 4, 2017.

1. ityo39

ityo39 Junior Poster

Local Time:
    5:01 PM
    Hello there,

I have a 60x40x40 cm planted tank which I have been running for more than 2 years now.And I have ups and downs, algae problems, diseased fish etc like all others.

Nothing dramatic though, fish are OK, plants are doing good. I also decided to invest in a pressurized CO2 system about a year ago to allow me to grow carpeting plants. Currently I have Cuba's carpeting nicely. I am having bba for the past 3-4 weeks, I have non-alarming quantitiy of BGA on the bottom of the front glass (just under the substrate as typical), and most importantly some GDA on the glass and rocks etc. I am keeping my PO4 levels above 1.0 ppm, and nitrates around 10-15 ppm range. K, Fe and micro's are also dosed. pH=6,7-6,8 range (I cannot test 4 times a day to see fluctuations etc). kH= 2-3 (more 2 than 3)

My question is regarding the CO2 system. I am dosing CO2 on a timer which goes on 1 hour before lights go on etc. Everything is as it should be. However I realize when the selenoid goes ON, there is no bubbles on the bubble counter for a long time, then after 30-45 minutes the bubbles come in a gush! and gradually it slows down to a stable 1-2 bubbles per second.Then every 3-4 hours I have a 30 min break (to allow the selenoid to cool down). then the same again. Oh and my parameters are: 60 bars at the tube. 7-8 bars after the regulator.