This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Conditioning ADA AquaSoil for an Established Tank

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by underwurlde, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. underwurlde

    underwurlde Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    More fool me!

    I purchased some ADA AquaSoil with the mind to whipping out the existing gravel substrate in my established tank (with fish & shrimp) & bunging my sparkly, gleaming new ADA AquaSoil substrate in.

    One thread later on TFF, I find that this is NOT a good idea for the established tank because of ensuing 3 week ammonia spike! (A fact NOT mentioned when buying the stuff).

    So, the question is: Is there a way of conditioning ADA AquaSoil so that it can go into an establsihed tank? My simplistic thinking leads me to just soaking it in a bucket of water for a month, performing (let's guess at 90%) weekly water changes, testing for levels of ammonia as I go. Once satisifed, bung it in!

    But (and there's always a but in this hobby!), what if anything, am I effectively loosing by doing this and is it a worthy idea? BTW, I do not possess a quarantine tank.

    Fianlly, if I really can't condition this stuff or otherwise use it, can anyone recommend a substrate that CAN be used in an establsihed tank?

    Regards & TIA,

    Andy.
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    608
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    When you add it to a new tank, make sure you do 2x a week water changes, large ones, add zeolite and/or Activated carbon.

    End of story and issue.
    the added work pays off and the plants grow very well with 2-3x a week water changes with dosing thereafter, EI is based on that and just reduces the water change frequency to weekly.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. underwurlde

    underwurlde Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    Not a new tank, an already established tank - but I guess that's what you meant.

    So in that respect, you're saying it is OK to add AquaSoil to an established tank just so long as you remove the Ammonia via large every other day water changes for 3 weeks or so until the levels have dropped

    Fair enough.

    Alternatively, would my other idea work re: conditioning in a bucket of water first & what are the implications of doing this?

    Thanks again Tom,

    Andy
     
  4. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    608
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    The bucket will be murky and muddy when you add it back.
    Don't do that.

    Add zeolite and/or water changes.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  5. Naja002

    Naja002 Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    Overdose Seachem's Stability. I use it for feeder fish fluctuations and it works. Plus it cannot be overdosed(-Its just bacteria):

    "Over-Dosing" Stability.....?

    Yes, it works.......
     
  6. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    608
    Local Time:
    1:56 PM
    I've dumped ADA AS directly into tanks that I removed the gravel from without removing the fish with nio ill effects on shrimp or fish.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
Loading...

Share This Page