This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Co2

Discussion in 'Talk to Tom Barr' started by luismoniz, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. luismoniz

    luismoniz Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hi Tom,

    My tank is better, thanks to this website and all the people here, thanks a lot.
    I have one question, my ph is 7 and kh 2 of my tap water, in the end of the day the ph of the tank water is 5 i think becouse KH is to low, and ph down to quick, what you recomend? Up kh of the tank, with bicabornat?
    Today i will do the drop checker 4dkh solution to make sure the co2 is ok!
    Can i have good green color on drop checker with ph in 5?
    Thanks for your time.

    Regards,

    Luís Moniz

    *Sorry my bad english but i am Portuguese
     
  2. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,676
    Likes Received:
    644
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    KH of 2 is fine, these days,. my tap is 1.2 KH.
    I like soft water, I can add things if I want, or leave it(which I normally do, it's easier!).

    Is this a non CO2 or a CO2 enriched tank?
    You are too low on CO2 if so(a CO2 enriched tank).
    pH ought to be about 6.4 or less through most of the light cycle using only more CO2 gas to lower it.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  3. luismoniz

    luismoniz Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hi Tom,
    Is CO2 enriched tank, but if i add more co2 de ph comes down, like i said my tap water have 7 of ph but with co2 in the tank ph down to 5.
    What you think i need do?

    Regards,

    Luís Moniz
     
  4. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hola Luís,
    It's difficult to belive that the ph drop to 5 is due to only CO2 injection. Are you sure there are no other acidic sources in the tank? Do you have peat in the substrate or are you adding acid buffer by chance? According to the calculations, ph 5 at dkh 2 means that your CO2 concentration would be 600 ppm.

    Either your pH or kH measurement is incorrect or something else in addition to CO2 is causing the pH to drop so much. Take a sample of water from the tank and let it sit for a few hours. Then measure the pH of the sample. Does the pH of the sample rise to 7? That might be one method to investigate if there are other acidic sources in the tank.

    We will have a better idea when you get your drop checker and use 4 dkH water in it.

    Saludos,
     
  5. luismoniz

    luismoniz Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hi,
    I put drop checker the result is yellow, my ph is 6.5 and my kh is 5 today.
    So i think i have to much co2 right?

    Regards,

    Luís Moniz
     
  6. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    If you are using 4 dKH distilled or DI water in the drop checker, and it is yellow, you have more than 40 ppm of CO2 in the water - too much.
     
  7. luismoniz

    luismoniz Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hi VaughnH,
    Nice to meet you!
    Yes i do all the process you say for the water, i think its correct :)
    Thanks guys for your help, i will down my co2 and make the checker green.

    Regards,

    Luís Moniz
     
  8. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,676
    Likes Received:
    644
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    If you use ADA aqua soil , pH's are typically in 5's.
    The drop checker can help pin point a good CO2 level.
    4 dKH drop check solution will help.

    Sounds like that was the issue.
    Make sure you have decent current in the tank.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  9. luismoniz

    luismoniz Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:12 PM
    Hi Tom,
    Thanks for your help, i am glad you help me.
    About my aquarium, this is one picture 3 months ago.
    DSC03323v.jpg
    Now the plants are bigger :) not all, vallisneria stop grow i dont know why :confused:
    but yes, i use aquasoil amazonia and my ph is not no more on 5. now is 6,5!

    Regards and sorry if my english is not good, I try

    Luís Moniz

    If you want see more of my tank you can see in my blog, but is in portuguese
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice