This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Support us by upgrading to the lifetime advertisement free version.

    Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

CO2 Reator TROUBLE!!

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by deucebiggss, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. deucebiggss

    deucebiggss Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    Well I just cracked the Clippard check valve. I had to turn my psi up to 40+ and crank my needle valve all the way to the point my regulator was making a vibrating noise. That sure as hell doesn't seem right.
     
  2. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    What direction was the arrow on the Clippard valve pointing?
     
  3. deucebiggss

    deucebiggss Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    The arrow was pointing at the reactor --->. Problem is I had to have the psi set to 40psi and my needle valve was turned allt he way up. That is not right. What am I doing wrong here. I checked for leaks
     
  4. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    This is all that I can think of at the moment:
    - The air in the reactor was keeping the CO2 from dissolving. Burp it until all the air is out.
    - This is a first ... defective Clippard check valve???
    - I suppose that your Burkert solenoid was on this whole time.

    You don't have to have it up to 40psi and the Ideal valve open all the way to run it in your powerhead, do you?

    Hook it up with a good check valve and see what happens.
     
  5. deucebiggss

    deucebiggss Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    I am not using the clippard valve for the powerhead. I am using an Elite check valve made by Hagen for the powerhead. My Regulator is set at 10psi and about 3-4bps for that setup. But the problem with those check valves is they are junk when used on the reactor. The water creeps right by it, but it allows the CO2 through. I am going to buy another clippard valve and see what happens. I am also going to take everything apart and retape and tighten. It is something so stupid I can see it now.
     
  6. milesm

    milesm Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    you do have the water entering from the top and exiting from the bottom, right?

    forehead slap(?)
     
  7. abcemorse

    abcemorse Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    My clippard CV was like that when I first got it. I took a small piece of wire and carefully pushed it in the intake side and pushed the check open, then it was fine. Kinda like a window that's painted shut if that makes sense. Try that, just be careful not to damage the inside. HTH
     
  8. deucebiggss

    deucebiggss Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
    Well, today was a good day. I found the problem. I checked for leaks again and found it FINALLY!! It was the cover of the bubble counter and that cracked open the brass check valve. I am happy but frustrated I couldn't figure it out sooner. Thanks everyone for your help
     
  9. Gbark

    Gbark Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM

    I'm glad you solved it :) I was looking at your pics and noticed a plug adapter that looked like it had built in timers, is this right? if so do you know if you can get UK ones?
     
  10. deucebiggss

    deucebiggss Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    11:34 AM
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice