This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Co2 not getting to the plants?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by ccLansman, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    Trying to figure this out and i guess i need to gauge your responses.

    I have a inline co2 reactor, about 15 inches long, it dissolves about 100% until the water gets super saturated then it does purge small bubbles into the tank.

    So here is the problem... lights are nice a mid range 65wx2 all day one hour burst with all 4, its a 60 gal.

    If i run the co2 so that the bubble counter is verrrrry quickly streaming bubbles say >9bps i get good pearling/growth/no algae issues. I turn it down a bit to say
     
  2. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    boy o boy, 50 reads and no ideas?... may be i have hit the mother of all questions :p
     
  3. sherry

    sherry Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    have you considered trying co2 mist?
     
  4. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    Well, 3 bps is plenty for me on a 50G. Flow isn't only a matter of gph. Where does the output for your CO2 spray into the tank? Originally, I had my CO2 output nozzle at the water's surface of my tank. Because of the way my flow was set up, I do not think my CO2 ppms at the substrate level were anywhere near 30ppm. So, I put the output of my CO2 just below my filter's output spray nozzle. At that point, the CO2 was really getting into the flow and I was able to reduce my CO2 bps by at least 25%. I think you may have to play around with this to get it right. I totally agree with you that 9 bps should not be needed in a 60G tank. Since you don't have a sump, I don't see where you could possibly be off-gassing so much CO2.

    Tom has been having success with glass diffusers pointing up toward a Koralia type of pump (I think). That is very simple and really gets the CO2 everywhere. I didn't have time to track down the thread where he mentions this, but you can probably find it easy enough.

    I realize drop checkers aren't perfect, but it's the best we have to measure CO2 ppms at an affordable price. You don't mention using one. If you have one, put it down near the substrate where algae is growing and see if you register 30ppm there.

    You might want to consider posting a photo or two to give people an idea of your setup.
     
  5. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    Ill get some photos, but the co2 was comming out of my 2026 return from the inline down towards the substrate, just above the corner shooting towards my koralia 2. I switched to the mister today and will see how it goes. Also i have two drop checkers one in either corner towards the bottom. Both go dark yellow before the plants start shooting off visible bubbles. I dont see pearling unless the tank is i guess super saturated with co2.....

    I guess a good question is how the heck do we know if we have enough co2 if we cant really trust the drop checkers and have to run a ton of co2 inline to get good pearling?
     
  6. tedr108

    tedr108 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    Well, it sure does sound like your CO2 should be getting everywhere. You have better flow than I did.

    In my 50G, I only got serious pearling in the afternoons. However, virtually all of my plants grew like 1" to 2" per day, so I'm not sure how much pearling we should look for. I didn't have any problem with algae. I had a little pearling in the mornings -- just not heavy-duty bubbles.
     
  7. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    hmm it seems like a cylical thing with me i can NEVER get things going well i dont know what the heck can be going on... may be my tap water is poison.... i even tossed a bag of cuprisorb to lower the copper that is high in my tap.
     
  8. nickmcmechan

    nickmcmechan Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    if your tap water is an issue should you consider using an HMA?
     
  9. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    1) what is an HMA?
    2) My tap cant be that bad else ide be dead! :)
     
  10. guy tillmans

    guy tillmans Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    Pearling occures when you water is saturated with o2, not co2!!!
     
  11. nickmcmechan

    nickmcmechan Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    HMA = Heavy Metal Axe . Filters tap water, removed heavy metals (e.g. lead, copper, etc, but not minerals. Most of them have a chloramine / chlorine reduction chamber. Very similar to RO but leaves the minerals in.

    My tap has pH 7.2 and kH/gH ~1ppm, so I just use HMA for my Discus tank
     
  12. Panda

    Panda Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM

    Could you elaborate on HMA ??

    Relating to this thread: it seems it's your diffusion method. I had a few problems on a tank and increasing the BPS rate seems to stop the algae issue. I ended up with a maxi jet ( with tiny holes on the impeller) on one of the corners.
     
  13. nickmcmechan

    nickmcmechan Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    he said in an earlier post that he thought his tap water was very poor quality
     
  14. Panda

    Panda Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    I know, thanks. But I want to know if anyone has any info on this HMA filter. I've never heard of it.
     
  15. ccLansman

    ccLansman Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    I guess a better question would be, does it make any difference how hard or soft my water is? Or how high or low my KH is? If i have high KH do i have to put any more co2 then somone with low kh?
     
  16. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    No, you don't need more CO2 depending on the KH. If you add 30 ppm of CO2 to any water, it will have the same concentration of CO2.
     
  17. nickmcmechan

    nickmcmechan Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
    :p LOL....what's heavier...a ton of rocks or a ton of feathers?!?!?!?!?
     
  18. nickmcmechan

    nickmcmechan Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:20 AM
Loading...

Share This Page