This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

CO2 in a large tank

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by kaaikop, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. kaaikop

    kaaikop Junior Poster

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:32 PM
    Hi folks! this forum is great! I am learning a lot here

    I have a 150g tank (6 foot), and my CO2 is going through an Aquamedic 1000 reactor, then out through one of the filters output (i.e. only one end of the tank...).

    I start to realize that my CO2 is probably not reaching all areas of the tank, even if I have a decent circulation
    (2 filters, with the inputs/outputs crossed at each end of the tank).

    I was thinking about just adding a splitter (after the solenoid) then another bubble counter, reactor, etc. and out through the other filter output,
    so the CO2 comes out at each end of the tank. That certainly would be much better, but perhaps you guys have different ideas?
     
  2. Frolicsome_Flora

    Frolicsome_Flora Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    3:32 PM
    It sounds like you have good current about, but 2 reactors isnt going to hurt. if you put your bubble counter before the splitter, youll only need 1 ;)

    Id probably go for a nice glass mister type, as those Aquamedics are a heck of a lot of $$ for what they are.
     
  3. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    608
    Local Time:
    3:32 PM
    Sounds like a good idea, the tank's CO2 system will be more responsive certainly.

    I'd suggest at least 300gph running through each reactor, a bubble counter for each reactor is a good idea truthfully.

    You can measure the rate easily this way vs adding 4 bubbles/sec through one, it's easier to measure 1/2 that rate.

    You can crank up one high also, then tweak with the other reactor.

    Note, you will need 2 needle valves to run two separate CO2 reactors, the flow will not go to both of them equally.

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
Loading...

Share This Page