This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Unfortunately for Photobucket users, things have changed in a big way as of June 26th they are rolling out a $399 per year subscription fee for those who want to hotlink images from Photobucket’s servers to display elsewhere.
    This does not mean it only affects this site, It now means that billions of images across the Web now display an error message instead of the image in question. :(
    https://barrreport.com/threads/attention-photobucket-users.14377/
    Dismiss Notice

co2 all day and night

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by WAX, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. WAX

    WAX Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was wondering if something was wrong. i have a pressurized co2 system and i keep the ph at 7. if you let my tap sit for 24hr the ph is 8. the tank is on a timer. goes off 1hr before the lights go off and comes on 1hr before the lights come on. but at night or morning the ph is the same never moves. i'm using a red sea co2 indicator and it stays green 24hrs a day. saying i always have the same amount of co2 in my tank at all times. how can i have the same amount of co2 all day and night if the co2 not running. and the fish are fine no gasping and i theres really no top water movement or air stones
     
  2. Bartman

    Bartman Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if you have very little movement of the water surface less CO2 will diffuse out at night. You may not be loosing enough gas to drop the CO2 levels noticeably.

    If you are using aquarium water instead of a standard solution in your drop checker it could have buffers in it keeping a constant pH.

    Keep in mind that the color of CO2 checker really tells you the pH of the solution in the checker, not the level of CO2 directly. We know the CO2 level by knowing the KH and pH of that solution. At 4 degree KH and 6.6 pH will give you a green color with a bromo blue indicator. These values also correspond to a 30 ppm CO2 concentration which is why they're typically chosen.
     
  3. WAX

    WAX Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks....
     
  4. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,478
    Likes Received:
    344
    The response time for the CO2 checker can be rather slow.

    Older tanks often will have fairly stable pH's, if so, then you might consider deep vacuuming the substrate in 1/4 sections each week to clean it out good and then replant.

    The accuracy of the color in the drop checker is only so so, but even with a pH monitor/probe, I've seen this happen.

    Not quite sure, but it does tend to bother me some and I will clean out the tank good if so and do a large water change.
    That seems to solve the issue.

    Also, when plants are growing well and taking things in via the roots, they add acids to the substrate, they do this to make nutrients there more mobile to remove them for uptake. This can have an effect as well. Hard to show that in situ though.


    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  5. WAX

    WAX Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a new tank . and i do 50% water changes every week. and i even re tested my ph monitor/probe. plants are growing really well
     
  6. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator Social Group Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,478
    Likes Received:
    344
    Do you have good flow etc?
    Seems weird.

    Older tanks perhaps, not newer ones.
    If plants are fine, keep doing what you are doing, are there any algae?
    Plant issues?

    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  7. WAX

    WAX Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had some brush algae that came with my SAG. but it's gone now. other than that no..

    no i really don't have much of any flow. not at least on top
     
Loading...

Share This Page