This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

chlorine bromine removal

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by jtparsons, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:09 PM
    Ive never pre-treated my tank water for chlorine/bromine. Is the issue excess ammonia from Bromine? Should I really be doing this? Ive never before and plants/fish never appeared to mind. Im assuming I would need to by yet another bottle of something or other. Seachem Prime maybe?
     
  2. jtparsons

    jtparsons Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    5:09 PM
    -Dont many of these products also remove nitrate? I dont want that.

    -Some of these products convert ammonia to ammonium? Do plants use ammonium the same way?

    -Some sites suggest toxic levels of ammonia at .1ppm?

    -What do the shrimp think about all this?
     
  3. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    5:09 PM
    Seachem Prime is the best product I know of, because you only dose a small amount per gallon, making the bottle last forever. It is Chloramine, not Bromine, that is the problem. Chloramine is ammonia plus chlorine.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice