This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Chemical Neutralisation of KH ?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by Rovik, Nov 4, 2012.

1. Rovik

Rovik Junior Poster

Local Time:
    10:49 AM
    Hello all,

Ill introduce myself as it is my first time posting here:

I'm 17 years old from Australia and have been keeping fish since I was 13, My first tank was a simple planted nano and although have Kept a variety of fish along the way... but High Tech planted tanks are my where my interests Lay. Its great to see a dedicated, active forum for like minded aquatic plant enthusiasts.

So here is my predicament,

I have a 5'x2'x32'' aquarium which holds roughly 700L after gravel.
    The tank has been set-up now for over 2 months and during the set-up phase I used a product I was given, named "PenacP".
    Which for those who do not know is majority CaCO3 (98.1%) and the rest MgCo3.

With this product, I sprinkled over the glass base of the tank and put my 80kgs of Inert Gravel over the top.
    I used this product to help neutralise the organic acids from an odd 18L of Aquasoil (Undergravel) that would have an effect on my pH, decreasing it and voiding the Rough C02/KH/ppm relationship void.

I noticed the plants were quite sluggish in terms of growth the first 2 weeks and after a water testing I discovered that my KH' Was 14 degrees..
    My CO2 ran out very quickly as well (pH controller, Controlled) due to the High KH/base pH

Obviously I have over done it with the CaC03 under the substrate and this is the reason why I have such a high KH. Silly of me.:(
    I have pH neutral gravel and My tap water is 3' KH.