This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Carbon Filtered water?

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by AmirM, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    Hello,

    I was wondering whether I made (and still making) a mistake with my setup.
    I used water that goes through a system with a carbon filter and a UV filter- the type for drinking water, not the aquarium dedicated ones. I don't use anti-Chlorine/Chloramine substance.

    What do you think? Does the filter deplete the water of Ca, Mg or other trace elements? Will it be better to use plain tapwater with dechlor. ?

    Thanks for your input

    Amir
    ________
    Videos Pornos
     
    #1 AmirM, Oct 11, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
  2. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    I don't think the filter depletes Ca,Mg or other trace elements, but if you are running more than a trickle of water I also don't think it is removing all of the chlorine. As I understand it, those filters are most effective with a long dwell time for the water inside the filter. I use a carbon filter too, for my continuous water change system, but my flow rate is about a drop per second.
     
  3. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    Thanks Vaughn
    This filter's output is a low-medium speed.
    I will test the tap water and filtered water for KH, GH (just got my GH kit now, it wasn't in stock) - see what we get....
    Thanks
    Amir
    ________
    AMERICAN DAD! FORUMS
     
    #3 AmirM, Oct 11, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
  4. Carissa

    Carissa Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    I have a carbon filter on the house and I always use the water, but my tap water is 0 GH and KH anyway even without the filter, so I can't really say whether it would take anything out, if it was there to start with. I always use dechlor though too, just in case.
     
  5. AmirM

    AmirM Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    Dechlor overdose possible?

    Hello Carrisa,
    Can't we overdose the dechlor? In case it has nothing to deactivate in the water? Do you know what is the chemical compound/s in the dechlor products?
    Thanks
    Amir
    ________
    Deposit Premium Forum
     
    #5 AmirM, Oct 12, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2011
  6. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    Seachem recommends dosing the entire contents of the tank - say 55 gallons of water - not just the amount of replacement water - say 25 gallons of water. And, they recommend adding the whole dose to the remaining water in the tank as you add the replacement water. So, they seem to be saying that a 2X overdose of Prime is not harmful. In fact none of the conditioners is dosed according to how much chlorine or chloramine is in the water, and that can vary a lot, but according to how much water you have. This also suggests that overdosing up to 2X or perhaps more is not harmful. As I recall, from asking Seachem about dosing Prime with a continuous water change system, they are concerned if you overdose by too much. But, I'm not sure how much is too much.
     
  7. rlillynj

    rlillynj Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    i hope i dont sound ignorant here, but i also use prime and i add it to the new water and let it sit with a powerhead running for 12 hours before adding it to the tank. so if i were to add the recommended dosage for my entire tank to each new batch of water then i would be adding 5 times the recommended dosage with each water change. that doesnt really make much sense to me. i test for chlorine on a monthly basis, thats every 4th water change just to make sure the prime is working properly and i've never had a trace of chlorine. my only concern has ever been, is prime possibly removing any other trace elements that might be beneficial to my plants. i actually started using another product that claims to just remove chlorine and break up chloramine. i have only been doing this for a month now(4 w/c's) and i have actually noticed better growth. however, right now i'm dealing with green water so i have other variables that are currently affecting things.
     
  8. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,662
    Likes Received:
    600
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    I use carbon prefiltered water for my client's tanks, it works well. No issues etc.
    Same with carbon in planted tanks, I've seen little issue.


    Regards,
    Tom Barr
     
  9. VaughnH

    VaughnH Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    89
    Local Time:
    12:53 AM
    Even if Prime removes all of the nutrients from the water, and it doesn't do so, you will replace those nutrients when you fertilize anyway. So, I don't see it being a major problem. Carbon or zeolite or purigen in the filter might conceivable be a problem since the water is continuously being run thru the filter. But, I haven't seen any evidence that any of those filter media will remove a significant amount of nutrients.
     
Loading...

Share This Page