This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Better light for hooded tank?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by D-Gray, Sep 4, 2014.

1. D-Gray

D-Gray Junior Poster

Local Time:
    6:39 PM
    I am new to planted tanks. I got lucky that my 20 gallon tank hood came with a T8 light that meets the requirements for my low light plants. My weeping moss already seems to have tripled in size but it's higher in the tank. My lower plants just do not look great. According to a lighting chart my current light should be good for the depth of my tank. However, more light is better so I was wondering if anyone else has had to find a better light that will still fit on the hood where the existing light is.

I have a 24" light box that is kind of the standard aquarium hood light. It's the light box that sits over a clear panel in the middle of the hood. I kind of need to keep using the hood, I have a cat, keeps the tank warmer the winter than if open, and tons of evaporation from the dry heat in the winter.

The watt of the box is not high enough to upgrade bulb. So I thought someone else has sure to have had this issue before and could recommend a higher replacement that still fits.

Thanks in advance.

2. Whiskey

Whiskey Member

Local Time:
    I did this once by gutting the hood and buying a AH Supply PC bulb and reflector. I had to mount the ballast on the back of the hood, but the rest worked great.

The light however did not work so well - Because of how close it was to the tank I had unbelievably high light in the center section, and the top corners of the tank were nearly dark.