This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Best place to add a Drop checker?

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by reef12, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. reef12

    reef12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    Wondering if far away from the stream as possible, I do have a kind of slow spot in the 125.

    Thanks

    Jeff
     
  2. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    I asked the same question not too long ago. The simple answer is that it doesn't really matter since the trapped gas eventually equalizes with the water. So you should really put it in a place that is easy to see and not distracting.
     
  3. Socket

    Socket Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    In the classified section? ;):wink-new:
     
  4. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
    Likes Received:
    711
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    In the garbage?
     
  5. ShadowMac

    ShadowMac Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    13
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM

    LOL!

    why do I still use one!?
     
  6. Asmack Arabia

    Asmack Arabia Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    i think its still a good back-up or reminder to let us know if our co2 is ok. my co2 system is at the back of the cabinet which i seldom got to check. a number of times happened where my co2 was malfunctioning and i only happen to know because my drop checker turned green or blue (it's always yellow). so i still keep it in my tank.
     
  7. Socket

    Socket Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    A little more brash than my suggestion...but how I feel as well.
     
  8. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    If the only issue with drop checkers is the extreme amount of time lag (hours) before it tells us the CO2 concentration, then there are ways to improve upon it so that it's immediate, less than one minute. All that is required is to agitate the solution so that the gas diffuses much faster.
     
  9. Asmack Arabia

    Asmack Arabia Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    i haven't thought about that. can you tell me exactly how to do it ? like how many drops of solution to ml of tank water ? do you shake or swirl it ?

    thank you.
     
  10. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    A small stainless steel ball bearing (one you can get from skateboard bearings) can be placed inside the drop checker if the opening is large enough. Moving a magnet outside the tank next to the drop checker will cause the bearing to move thus creating agitation of the solution. The only downside is that it is manual. Something automatic requires something more complicated.
     
  11. Tug

    Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    9
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
  12. Asmack Arabia

    Asmack Arabia Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    i was thinking of doing the testing outside the tank. like you put an X amount of tank water in a cylinder then add X drops of the solution, shake, then you get an instant result.

    is there such a thing ?
     
  13. BriDroid

    BriDroid Prolific Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    That is a nice idea. I'll have to see if I can find a small enough bearing.

    Would the indicator solution or the KH solution cause the bearing to rust, meaning I would have to change the drop checker solution out more often?
     
  14. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    That's the same as testing for pH. And if using the pH/kH table, that also requires testing for kH to measure the amount of CO2.
     
  15. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    It depends on the quality of the stainless steel bearing. If there were ceramic bearings with a steel core, that would never rust. But I don't know if it anyone manufactures such a thing.
     
  16. Tug

    Tug Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    9
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    I think you can get very close checking your pH independent of KH, to determine CO2.
    Let your tap water sit for 24-48 hours to gas of any CO2 and check the pH.
    Next, in your tank, check your pH after you've started to add CO2.
    A one degree drop in pH should equal a 10x increase in CO2. :encouragement:

    So, it can be done without knowing your exact KH.
     
  17. reef12

    reef12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    Can't use a Magnet with stainless steel, if all Stainless.

    Okay so some don't use one then, nice answers though.:eek:

    Jeff
     
    #17 reef12, Aug 21, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2013
  18. Solcielo lawrencia

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    43
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    Stainless steel will contain iron so there is a magnetic attraction. The power of the magnet may not be strong enough if it isn't close enough to the steel. In any case, anything that can rust will eventually rust unless you coat it with some kind of clearcoat. Another issue is that the CO2 must outgas into the drop checker cavity. This can be a slow process so a device that can also agitate the aquarium water as well as the dkH solution will increase the speed of the drop checker reading.
     
  19. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
    Likes Received:
    711
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    Well, this ASSUMES the degassed water is in fact, degassed. Some of the estimations using pure RO and baking soda suggested many canister filtered aquariums still had a good 10 to 15ppm left over.

    So if you think you have 2-3 ppm, when you have say 15 ppm, then you add another 30-40ppm.............what could go wrong?

    A lot.

    Say your measure of pH is rather poor, or the pH probe has not been calibrated, or you think it is.........again, another source of errors.
    So things need to be looked at carefully and checked to make sure the readings are correct.
    Not quite as simple as we'd like.
     
  20. Tom Barr

    Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
    Likes Received:
    711
    Local Time:
    12:04 AM
    Well, this ASSUMES the degassed water is in fact, degassed. Some of the estimations using pure RO and baking soda suggested many canister filtered aquariums still had a good 10 to 15ppm left over.

    So if you think you have 2-3 ppm, when you have say 15 ppm, then you add another 30-40ppm.............what could go wrong?

    A lot.

    Say your measure of pH is rather poor, or the pH probe has not been calibrated, or you think it is.........again, another source of errors.
    So things need to be looked at carefully and checked to make sure the readings are correct.
    Not quite as simple as we'd like.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice