This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

"Balance" 65 Gallon Dutch Aquascape, ((( Plants Are In!!! )))

Discussion in 'Journals' started by DutchMuch, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. slipfinger

    slipfinger Article Editor
    Staff Member Lifetime Member Article Editor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    470
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    This and this alone tells me you have a long way to go. I understand you are new and are still learning, I respect that. Reading plants is far more advanced then figuring out your Co2 concentration.
    Anyways Dutch, I'm here to help when ever you have any questions or need help, but you seem to have things figured out. BTW, I have only been in the hobby just over a year, I don't or never have had green water. Just saying.
     
    Mike k and Greggz like this.
  2. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    Yes I think I may have said that. :D

    Ok well thank you! if I ever need sarcastic unstable help I will contact you via pm or tag you in a post of mine.

    "I have only been in the hobby just over a year, I don't or never have had green water. Just saying"

    This might be related to these facts/things:
    1. Our equipment is completely different
    2. dosing is different
    3. substrate is different
    4. ph is different
    5. etc.
     
  3. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    5:17 AM
    If you can't lower the lights, I'd suggest some floating plants, even if they are temporary. Duckweed is one of my favorites for this, but can make a mess due to its small size. Sucks up a LOT of ammonia, etc, and shouldn't impact co2 levels much. You can use frogbit, water lettuce, etc for this. Just trim the roots so they don't snag the plants below. I also like hornwort for shade and small fish, but it gets its co2 from the water column instead of air.

    Just curious, did you happen to measure the ph drop from co2? That would give the best indication if you're getting as much dissolved in the tank as you think. I'm too lazy to scroll back though the thread. ;)
     
    DutchMuch likes this.
  4. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    hey toads,
    I understand your laziness, I can relate..!
    http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/features/articles/co2-striking-the-balance
    just read this and it was informative.

    [​IMG]
    Image for people who would like to use it, and for me to go back to.

    My actual PH is (hardwater) 7.8 equal or plus.
    I need to buy another KH and GH test kit since my olds one corroded (the package so I assume they are considered old, plus newer never hurts)

    So now on my list for the measurement of a ph drop is (stuff to buy):
    KH/GH test kit(s)

    "As the gas in the water reacts with the bromo blue/water solution it changes solution colour, ranging from a dark blue, which is a high pH/low CO2, through to a yellow, which is low pH/high CO2."

    Ok so if I go by this, my drop checker is a good lime green. And that's as far as I am right now :/

    So until I have that I don't think I can really measure the PH drop in the/a tank.

    But the ph of the water that was/is in the DC was the 7.8
     
    #204 DutchMuch, Sep 5, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  5. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    5:17 AM
    Ah ok. If your looking for ph tests, don't do the test strips. You'll never get a good reading at the co2 peak time as they degass that little pad in seconds, making them pointless for our purposes. Use a liquid test and try to prevent it degassing as you fill and shake the vial. You can see the difference.. just breathe into the tube and shake it.... :eek: More expensive but infinitely better is a ph meter.

    Barring that there's my theory that if you can't gass the livestock you need a beefier co2 setup... :D
     
    Mike k and DutchMuch like this.
  6. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    No don't worry I know, always go liquid. More accurate :)...
    Then after liquid there is the whole automated setup. $$$

    I don't try to gas the livestock lol, The setup (I put links somewhere in the 11 pages of journalism) is from GLA, trust it imo.

    Thanks for the advice and assistance Toad, now im just surfing the web reading Co2 information, ive read a # of journals on here containing information on this. And posts by themselves. Good stuff.

    So, next time I go into town ill buy the KH/GH test kits again, re new those, and well go from there I presume with the Co2 things. until then.
     
    Mike k likes this.
  7. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    @toads74
    this just in,
    4dkh solution so that means I have a 1.9 PH drop... right? wait now im dead confused again...

    [​IMG]
    ok so on here, it says KH, ok so 4dkh, ph, 7.8, so that's 1.9 ph drop...?
    Think im miss reading the chart somehow...
    CO2_Graph.gif
    Cause this one also says 1.9...
    I just basically need a double check on my homework lol!
     
    #207 DutchMuch, Sep 5, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
  8. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    5:17 AM
    In theory 1.9 ppm of co2. I say in theory because in practice there are other things that affect ph and how much it drops with co2. So think of the chart as a theoretical maximum. So if your tank is at 6.8 on the drop checker and using 4kh at most you can have 18.7 ppm co2. And be sure to place the drop checker on the opposite side as the diffuser, any co2 mist making it into the checker will give misleading results.

    On the left you select the kh of the drop checker solution, and the current reading of ph from the checker. The intersecting square gives the ppm. Keep in mind that the chart is really only good for a reference solution, not tank water.
     
    #208 toads74, Sep 5, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
    DutchMuch likes this.
  9. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    @toads74 again thank you, im slow
    Yes the drop checker is on the opposite side, I have read this on ADA's website before :)
    But ok, glad I learned at this how to specifically measure Co2 In the tank... Does help in situations.
    Now next question as if I hadn't finished the last one lol, How can I drop my tanks ph? peat moss I heard works but obviously makes a mess... I have super hard well water around here with high calcium levels.
     
  10. Phishless

    Phishless Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    969
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    I don't mind being cast aside!
    Got broad shoulders I can take it.

    All joking aside a reactor is a big win.
    Bubble counter shows it going in and no bubbles come out.
    Saturation at it's best!

    It's kind of like PAR, electricity, etc...
    If you don't test it you'll never know what you have.
     
    Mike k and DutchMuch like this.
  11. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    @Phishless wise words...
    Well I cant say I wont look into it even more than I have.
     
  12. toads74

    toads74 Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    120
    Local Time:
    5:17 AM
    My thoughts exactly! True power... when you can gass your fish, but don't. :rolleyes:
     
    DutchMuch likes this.
  13. Phishless

    Phishless Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    969
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
  14. Phishless

    Phishless Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    969
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    For reference here is the math behind that long winded chart.
    [​IMG]
     
    Mike k, DutchMuch and LRJ like this.
  15. Mike k

    Mike k Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    44
    Local Time:
    5:17 AM
    Poret foam is the boss. I will never buy another canister. Shrimp live it too


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Phishless and DutchMuch like this.
  16. bshenanagins

    bshenanagins Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    112
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    Back to the BPS thing, it's a rough idea of how much co2 your pumping. The main problem though is how much of that is actually being dissolved. If you look at the venturi reactor design, it will actually allow you to create some mist into the tank while still dissolving a good amount entirely. I made the internal version and it worked fantastically, however the way I had it setup there was no mist. I've only experienced green water once, and that was in a tank that was completely overwhelmed with bioload that the bacteria simply just couldn't keep up.
     
    DutchMuch likes this.
  17. bshenanagins

    bshenanagins Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    112
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    Why
    Why do you say that? Canisters certainly have their place especially for larger aquariums
     
    Mike k and DutchMuch like this.
  18. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    Hes talking about using it for a corner filter occasionally. It sometimes out competes a canister.
     
  19. bshenanagins

    bshenanagins Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    112
    Local Time:
    6:17 AM
    Oh well I can see that being the case maybe from a biological standpoint. Not a fan of equipment taking up space in the tank it drives me nuts. Can't wait to drill my 40B in the future.
     
  20. DutchMuch

    DutchMuch Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    390
    Local Time:
    11:17 AM
    yea I get that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice