This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Aussie 6x2x2

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Ian Wieden, Mar 4, 2020.

1. Ian Wieden

Ian Wieden New Member

Local Time:
    9:20 PM
    Hey guys,
    I was posting this in introductions, but it started getting too long. So i've decided to start a journal over here.

My name is Ian and i'm a firefighter from Queensland, Australia.
    A few years (a wife and a baby) later, i was thrust back into the hobby.
    During the latest bushfire crisis i inherited a dozen or so random rainbows from a friend who's house was threatened. So my empty 6x2x2 aquarium with external coast to coast overflow and 4x1.5x1.5 sump were filled with water and going against every rule in the book, his fish were added that day (we didnt have a choice unfortunately). It's been 3ish months and i havent lost a rainbow, so thats a plus.

But now i'm in all sorts of bother. I want this tank to be a planted tank. Right now its a bare bottom tank because we didnt have time to add substrate. So i have to try and work out how to add substrate without having to remove the livestock. I have about 20kg of play sand that i can wash and place in the tank, and i'm considering buying some ada amazonia 2 to place in a section that i want to heavily plant.