This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Another Bba Thread...uhg

Discussion in 'Algae Control' started by JeremyDMeyer76, Mar 28, 2020.

1. JeremyDMeyer76

JeremyDMeyer76 New Member

Local Time:
    7:08 AM
    Long story short this 80 gallon tank has had lots of "phases". As a newb I couldn't help myself and pretty much planted every type of plant I could get my hands on in it.

I've since pulled mostly everything except my Bucephalandra, anubias, needle leaf java, and a few clumps of blyxa.

I think I want to make this tank an all slow grower tank (low maintenance) but before I do much more I need to do something about the BBA.

It's pretty much everywhere and on everything. Being its practically everywhere I'm considering doing a blackout or full tank treatment using glute but I dont want to hurt my fish. I have a gallon jug of Excel on hand but am afraid of how overdosing it will affect my fish.

I've drastically cut down photo intensity, increased flow, inject C02 24/7 and have manually removing it.

I'm not sure what else to do. Will it eventually just go away on it's own if I've fixed all the things that would make it grow?

- Light 4 Guissman T5's and 2 Kessil A360W
    - CO2 controlled by Apex controller griggs reactor
    - pH difference between fully de-gassed and fully gassed? 1.2 points
    - Current NO3, PO4, GH, KH, pH and TDS readings? N03 10, GH 8dkh, KH 2dkh, TDS 160ish ppm
    - What you are dosing (product and quantity) and how often? 2-3x a week Thrive+
    - Substrate type and how long has it been in place? Pool sand year+
    - What is your filter setup? Wet/dry sump