This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

An Absolute Newbie in Planted - Dumb Questions

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by nimo, Mar 16, 2009.

1. nimo

nimo Junior Poster

Local Time:
    5:25 AM
    Hello Freinds,

Just joined this great place :) . Little about myself, I come from india, and have a fishkeeping experience of little close to 7 years. Throughout this tenure, except the initial hiccups, have been concentrating primarily on Cichlids and Arowana.
    Have kept, large sized NA Cichlids, Arowana (Still have 1 - 16 inches long Silver), Frontosa tanks etc...

This is my first venture into planted aquaria.. This weekend, have setup my first ever planted tank..

Wanted to setup the Tank first with no CO2 injection...The details are as follows

1. Tank dimension - 36 in (L) X 15 in (W) X 18 in (H). I do realize that the W is less, as more is needed for aquascaping well.. but realized it much late

2. Lighting - Going by 1.5 - 2 WPG rule, have 2 X 36 Watts PLL, with 80 CRI and 6500 K

3. Substrate Used - Prodac Humus, Prodac Fertil (Plant Base), Prodac Fondovivo, and regular Sand Gravel 2 - 3 mm on top.

4. Cannister Filer - 1000L/H capacity.

Attached is the picture, with 6 hrs after plantation.. Water was still murky, but eventually clearing out...

The plants I have used (Sorry too bad in scientific names). If possible, from the attached picture, can someone also ID the plants..

1. Lily Bulb (Front Corners, Right and Left)
    2. Dwarf Amazon
    3. Anubias Nana
    4. Ludwigia