This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Am I wasting CO2

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by corlis, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. corlis

    corlis Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:36 PM
    I read so many threads where people say they are bubbling 3bps or more but never say what size tank they are bubbling into. Does 3bps suffice for a 6x2x2heavy planted tank with 110 par at substrate level. reason I ask is that I go through 23 litre bottle of CO@ every three months. I have a pH controller for CO2 levels set at 5.9 with KH of 4. The CO2 usage seems really high. I always have problem with GHA on certain plants eg staurogyne. H2O circulation is via 2x 3000l/h wave makers and a 4000l sump pump so I assume plenty of water movement. and plenty of CO2. . I can increase CO2 further without harming fish corydoras Ferts via EI. What is the usual CO2 usage for this size tank?
     
  2. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    4:36 PM
    That's hard to say, because it's dependent of a lot of variables, like bubble size, outgassing, amount of light, plants and way of dissolving and dispersion. Algae though is a tell tale sign. The algae tells you something, namely a CO2 shortage, locally or totally. That's a better indicator than any number.

    With your amount of light I seriously ask myself if you will be able to provide enough CO2. I have ony half the PAR that you have at substrate level, but I don't have hair algae. Yet I can grow every plant I want. So in your case I wouldn't increase CO2, but use less light, down to 50 to 60 umol max. at substrate level. Still it will take like six weeks and a lot of manual removal and pruning to get rid of the hair algae.

    Less light = less CO2 demand = no or less algae.

    I use 10 litres of CO2 in 3 months on a 180 gallon. So half the light, half the CO2 and no algae ;)

    regards,
    dutchy
     
    #2 dutchy, Jan 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 4, 2011
  3. corlis

    corlis Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    4:36 PM
    thanks dutchy

    I am using LED lighting and I am slowly reducing number of light units. I am currently running 240 watts 11h and extra 240w 6hrs. At max light still less than 3w/g. I have no problems growing plamts currently 130 species in one tank and 59 in another I also have no problem growing the hair algae, No other algae problems, Will keep reducing light units
     
Loading...

Share This Page