This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

algae problem

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by camilocastroalvarado, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Hi, i'm trying to identify this algae and what is causing it. Hope you can help me!
    thanks a lot!

    250l Aquarium
    Photoperiod- 7 hours a day, with 8 t5 54w.
    Co2-35 ppm
    No ammonia
    No nitrite
    Adding KNO3, KHPO4, MgSo3, CaCO3, 3 times a week; CSM+B 3 times a week.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for helping!
     
  2. ibanezfrelon

    ibanezfrelon Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Did i read this corectly..? You have 8 X 54W T5's?
     
  3. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Yes, you seem amazed...is that too much counting on my photoperiod?
    Regards!
     
  4. ibanezfrelon

    ibanezfrelon Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    I think 4 t5's would still be very high light and a real challange to suply enough co2 to follow that amount of light.
    This is WAAAAY too much light and i think you can't give the plants enough co2 to follow this light without killing fauna in your tank.
    ...unless those lights are stuck to the seeling few feet above the tank :)

    Could you give the pitcure of the entire tank , and those 8 t5's?
    I'd realy like to see that..


    How do you disolve that co2? How much flow do you have? Filtration?

    Reducing those lights , adjusting co2 would be the first step..
     
  5. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    As Ibanez says you have way too much light. I can see like three different kinds of algae on your pics, which are related to CO2 difficiencies and NH4 spikes.

    Your aquarium is 250 liters, mine is more than TWICE that size but I use only HALF of the amount of Watts that you have. And I have no algae. And this is the result:

    [​IMG]

    Using 25% of your lights, so two tubes, maximum three, will put you in the same range, but will give you a better chance of being able to meet CO2 demands. The NH4 spikes can be avoided by not uprooting too much plants at the same time and always do a large waterchange afterwards.

    regards,
    dutchy
     
    #5 dutchy, Aug 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2010
  6. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Well, another one that have bender over is necks because the light.

    I don´t now if you ´re Portuguese but at least here in Portugal most folk adore the good of light and the electricity here is one of the most overcharge.

    Take the advice from ibanezfrelon and dutchy and cut the light.

    Regards
     
  7. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Hi.
    ibanezfrelon, here are the pics.
    I disolve Co2 using a home made reactor connected to the main filter. The reactor is filled with bio-balls, in order to increase the water-gas surface. I have 2 aditional pumps to improve water circulation in the tank. The filter pump moves 2500l per hour. 8 Kg Co2 tank. I always keep my Co2 about 35 ppm but, if u are right and i'm understanding you, that ammount is not even enough to consume that light?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    dutchy and ismenio, so are you agree on taking off a couple of t5s'?
    I may exaggerated about the light, i just thought that more watts with a smaller photoperiod would help fighting algae in some cases.
    How many hours a day you suggest?
    Thank you guys, i hope you continue helping me.
    (sorry about my english)
    Regards.
     
  8. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    First: You can better tell us how it really is :gw:

    As far as I can see the tank is kind of shallow (not very deep) Two T5's with a photoperiod of 10 hours will give you all the light you need and you will be able to grow every plant you want, without all the algae issues you have now.

    regards,
    dutchy
     
  9. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Well, dutchy is right, i´m just a newbie but in the past i have the same problem, in a 40 L tank i put 48 W in T5 but without CO2, well, you can´t see even the fish, the glass was full of algae and the plants too.
    Now i have a 80 L tank with one 24 W T5 bulb and diy CO2 and i don´t have algae.
    Is better take the advice of dutchy, with that your pocket will thanks since the electricity bill gonna be smaller and you can decrease the co2 in the tank too was well the rest of the nutrients.

    Regrads
     
  10. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Ok. I just take off 2 t5. Now i have 6 and changed the photoperiod to 6 hours, i will take off some tubes daily until the algae stops. Will see how it works. Yor're right guys.
    So you think that the macros consumption in the aquarium will decrease?, in that case i have to recalculate the dosing of nutrients.
    Regards, thanks again for helping
     
  11. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Con mucho gusto.

    The nutrient consumption will decrease, but that's the least of your worries. Don't take back the CO2!! When you get back to using only 2 tubes, a total of 40 ppm of KNO3 and 4 ppm of KH2PO4 per week will be enough. Adjust the others accordingly.

    Ciao,
    dutchy
     
  12. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    No !!! Dutchy haven´t say to turn off two bulbs but to only turn on two bulbs and turn off the others six.

    And by the way, do not decrease now the nutrients, neither co2 until the algae go away.

    Regards
     
  13. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    I know ismenio, the idea is to reduce more my light. I just want to do it slowly, in order to avoid drastic changes that may cause more imbalances. You're right, i'm not going to modify the fertilization for now, that may cause an other imbalance which for sure, will lead to another f$%&n algae!.

    Thank you guys, i really apreciate your help.
    Se nota que soy de habla hispana?
    jaja!
     
  14. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Nuestros ermanos
     
  15. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Un poquito. Mi esposa es Colombiana.

    dutchy.
     
    #15 dutchy, Aug 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2010
  16. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Qué bueno!...Soy Colombiano también!....
    I hope that your wife's nationality, develop special attention to my post. LOL
    Regards!
    I will tell you how my aquarium goes!
     
  17. dutchy

    dutchy Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    ok, if you promise to follow the advice you get here ;)

    regards,
    dutchy
     
  18. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Yes Sr.!!
    Regards!
     
  19. camilocastroalvarado

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Hi guys...
    Even reducing light and adjusting Co2 to 35-40ppm (Tested whit a DIY Drop Checker), this algae is growing faster. I looked at the algae through a microscope and i identified it as Urothrix.

    [​IMG]
    (sorry about the pic)
    [​IMG]

    Is amonnia causing this?, even if my test says 0?
    What do you think? Need some help!!
    Thanks!!
     
  20. ismenio

    ismenio Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:22 AM
    Well, how many bulbs working do you have now?
    2 ? 6 ?

    Regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page