This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Advice on new 100G tank

Discussion in 'Are you new to aquatic plants? Start here' started by omartinez, Aug 29, 2011.

1. omartinez

omartinez Prolific Poster

Local Time:
    3:31 AM
    Hello,

I currently have this 55G tank for almost 2 years

[​IMG]

It is my first tank, it have many mistakes and errors but it is a continued learning experience, i'm still a rookie but i feel ready for the next step (a bigger tank :) )

This one is setup with Professional CO2 and 6x32watts T8 DIY light.

The dimension i've in mind will be 60"x24"x18", my current tank just give me 12" of depth and that is not enough for a good aquascape so this one will have 24" :). I will make the tank myself with the help of various friends.

I've a lot of question and advice to ask, so I will start one step at a time.

My first question will be related to light. How much do you guys recommend? I plan to have them hang from the ceiling, if you have some places to buy online where i can see some good (cheap) ones, i will be thanksfull.

2. omartinez

Local Time:
    so, no help? no suggestions? :(

3. Jim Miller

Jim Miller Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    I'm no expert but just a comment on lighting. Lights are conveniently available in ~36" and ~48" lengths. A 60" tank will require some creativity in lighting if using flourescents and may limit your off-the-shelf choices.

Jim

4. Gerryd

Gerryd Plant Guru Team
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    Hi,